Boats, bridges and ferries, Oh My!!

To read Part 1 of our vacation

To readPart 2of our vacation

To read Part 3 of our vacation

Sitting on the dock of the bay.


I’m sure you can imagine there are a ton of bridges near the sea.
Many bridges over salty water.
We went over and under quite a few.

Going over the high bridges was fun. The bridges arch up high, higher, higher to a high center peak, they peak high in the center so that the large oil and cargo ships can travel under them.

These bridges are beautiful.

Up, up, up we go!

We also took a few ferry rides.

One ferry was a drive on ferry. It was a short ride across a small channel at Port Aransas. The ferry packs cars on it’s flat deck, four cars wide and (I think) six cars deep. We were lucky (both times we rode the ferry) we had a view of the ocean during the rides.

I have to confess, I was giddy with excitement over riding on the ferry. I actually bounced and giggled. I’m not sure if my husband enjoyed the ride or my reaction to it more. He smiled a lot.

When we rode in the passenger only ferry, the wind was still super wild. The ferry was pretty empty, but that might have been due to the fact that it was early-ish Tuesday morning.

waiting for the ferry

waiting for the ferry, and sporting his Chuck Norris shirt.

We rode the ferry across the bay from our hotel to the U.S.S. LEXINGTON.

The U.S.S. LEXINGTON was amazing. The ship was turned into a floating museum. So freaking cool!

We took silly pictures.

My daughter in the brig!

Photo OP...my son pretending to fire the weapons on a "faux" plane

We toured the main deck, my husband and kids toured the top deck (my knee kept me from being able to join them on the top deck). While they explored the planes on the top deck, I spent some quiet time on a side deck. I saw these AMAZING schools of jellyfish, the lighting was not good enough to get any pictures 😦 the jellyfish looked like giant cotton balls floating in the sea.

There were schools of them all over the place.
I think maybe they enjoyed the vibrations from the boat? I’m no jellyfish expert. I like to keep my relations with jellyfish on a “long distance” level.

We all got dog tags on the boat. My husband’s say “Big Daddy” and mine say “Little Momma”. Cute? We think so. My husband is a full foot taller than me.

We had a great time! I hope you’ve enjoyed the posts and pictures from my family vacation.

We certainly enjoyed our time together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments

  1. Oh gotta love the cheesy staged vacation shots. (I mean this in a good way.) You need to save those to display at their weddings.

    • You’re right, they would be great for that. We take A LOT of cheesy photos. 🙂

  2. Oh my indeed! Can´t believe you packed so much in. And love the ship/hotel, what fun!

    • We certainly tried to make the most of our trip. I’ll be honest, I was pretty tired when we got home. Vacations are great, but being home in your own bed is great too!

  3. Janice

    Had no idea jellyfish were that close. Thought they were only in Australia. Can you tell I’m not a water person?? LOL. Looks like a wonderful vacation!

    • Yep, we’ve got jellyfish. I wish I had been able to get a picture of them. They looked really cool (from afar) 😉

Share your thoughts!

