Garden Gab week 16…..

The veggie tales continue…can I say that without mentioning Veggie Tales? Have you ever seen Veggie Tales? Honestly, I love Veggie Tales. I just wish I had kids who were young enough that they still enjoyed the show.

I miss Veggie Tales, my husband and I have tried to watch a few of the newer movies, so let me correct that statement….I miss what Veggie Tales was before Big Idea went through bankruptcy, was sold off and the show became lame.

Please enjoy the Veggie Tales intro….

If you’re interested in Veggie Tales, I highly recommend “King George and the Ducky” and the silly songs are fabulous.

But, I digress……

This has been a pretty good gardening week. The plants had a ton of growth. I got A tomato and A cucumber, yep one of each.

20110707-081957.jpg

I have harvested a decent amount of okra

20110707-082021.jpgmy peppers are still growing and my purple bean plants have sprouted (finally).

Purple beans

Green peppers

Funky green peppers

I had another cucumber hissy fit and pulled the rest of the cucumber plants. This year, the cucumbers and I are just NOT seeing eye to eye.

I said “good day” to them for the rest of this season…I said “GOOD DAY!!!”

My handsome, handy, hardworking hubby is still working on the backyard transformation. Currently he is making a patio dining area next to the pool.

I am very excited to tell you that he is also going to increase my garden space. I’m super excited about that. Next year my garden will be “the bomb.com” <~~~dated, but I like it.

How’s your garden growing?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I won’t have a post tomorrow, Sunday, because I have decided to take at least one day off from blogging. I may increase that to Saturday and Sunday, I’m not sure yet. So, just a heads up…no posts on Sunday.

Have a super weekend!

10 Comments

  1. Our cucumbers are giving me fits this year too. The plants are barely producing and the few we’ve picked have been incredibly bitter. I’ve heard the same from family and neighbors so we’re thinking it’s the super dry summer and almost unbearable heat we’ve had for weeks and weeks.

    • It’s probably the heat. I’m comforted to know it’s not just me, and bummed that you’re having the same issues.

  2. Evil woman, I’m going to have bug-eyed asparagus in my head now. OK, I’m over it. I’m digging the fgp. (Funky green peppers.)

    • Ha ha! Sorry! Veggie Tales is catchy and addictive.

      I know, the fgp are cool aren’t they? They don’t get super big, but they are quite interesting to look at. Pretty tasty too.

  3. I love that you garden and your okra is just beautiful! Plant a garden at my house, please!

    • Thanks Lori! If we lived in the same area I would help you start your garden. I really would.

  4. Had never heard of Veggie Tales – very cute! And the garden is looking good. Hope you enjoyed your cucumber and tomato πŸ™‚

    • The Veggie Tales are funny. I used the tomato and cucumber in a recipe of yours. πŸ™‚ I’ll post about it soon.

  5. I love the fact that your garden is giving you food! I cannot wait to start mine properly πŸ™‚

    • I’m enjoying it so much. πŸ™‚ I’ll be even happier when my expanded garden area is finished (next spring) and I’m able to plant even more food for my family.

Share your thoughts!

