What to do with Halloween pumpkins

After the Halloween party, I had 6 lovely pumpkins to deal with.

20111103-214419.jpg

4 of the 6 pumpkins

The first one met my knife yesterday and then I gutted and roasted it. Does that sound homicidal?
Perhaps I’ve been watching too much crime tv huh?

20111103-214709.jpg

Yum

I roasted the pumpkin seeds.

20111103-214401.jpg

small pumpkins don't have a ton of seeds

Here is what I coated them with:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 3 grinds of black pepper

Clean your seeds.

20111103-214340.jpg

Mix with oil and seasoning.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes. I stir my seeds at least once during the baking process.

20111103-214350.jpg

Clearly, I'm using my iPhone too much for pictures. Poor green camera.

I am by no means the only one roasting pumpkin seeds lately.

Here are a few other people’s pumpkin seed roasting posts.

Linda of Savoring Every Bite pan toasts her seeds.

Greg and Katherine of Rufus’ food and spirits guide use cider vinegar, sugar and nutmeg.

How do you toast or roast your pumpkin seeds?

Don’t forget, Allie and I will be back with another Slow Cooker Link up on Monday.

What are you going to be slow cooking this weekend?

10 Comments

  1. Tis the season for seed snacking!! Love it! and thanks for the mention!!

  2. Wonderful tips!

  3. Glad you put those pumpkins to use. Everything looks great. Thanks for the shout out.

  4. Mmm, I love roasted pumpkin seeds! I usually sprinkle mine with good ol’ Seasoning Salt, can’t get much more country than that 🙂 And I have TOO MANY slow cooker ideas, as usual…

  5. Lucky you – I haven´t had a single pumpkin this year (you pumpkin murderer you!) 🙂

  6. Great ideas! I’ll remember this post if I ever have leftover pumpkin.

  7. Send them to me! Daisy LOVES pumpkin. We are gathering them all up from around town and bringing them out here for her! I just throw them over the fence whole and she munches away at them for ages! c

  8. Oh, little darlin…you the one with the REAL Bitchin Kitchen… you go girl.
    paul

  9. what a lovely end to the pumpkins 🙂 Please send me your postal address via email tandy(AT)tandysales.co.za

Trackbacks

  1. Hello Pie « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!