Something to share regarding meal planning…

I have been surfing, thinking, planning, and trying to decide what to do about the meal planning.  I failed to inventory my freezer this weekend, and I’ve been unable to pep talk myself into getting it done.  It’s already been a busy week and it’s not even half way over.

Here is some of the info I have found so far.

I found this neat area on Yahoo, totally by accident, that has some great recipes and meal planning.

My friend Lane, who also has a blog,  is using a paid membership meal planning service on JulieAnne Rhodes website. Here is a post with her review of the personal chef style meal planning approach.

I might not get all my ducks in a row this week.  Birthday ducks like to party, not hang out in a row.

I’ll keep you posted.  Meanwhile, if you meal plan, I (and my readers I’m sure) would love to hear from you.

How do you plan? For what length of time? Are you happy with the process?

8 Comments

  1. We normally talk in generalities on the weekend and then talk every day. My wife laughs about our daily dinner call. Normally I know what I’m making or at least the main ingredients before I head out the door. You can probably guess this, but I do most of the cooking. She’s great, but gets home after 6 most nights. Great post.

    • I do 90% of the cooking, the other 10% being grilling which my husband does. I’m honestly afraid of my freezer. It’s really full and I don’t want to inventory it. 😉

  2. Amy

    I “sort of” meal plan. It’s all in my head. Is that even possible? I know what I am making most weeks and surprisingly, I don’t usually make the same thing twice in a month. I find that having a well rounded pantry helps. I make meals with whatever produce is on sale.

    • Hi Amy! I do the same thing, plan in my head, around my well stocked pantry and freezer. I know what I’m making a few days at a time. I can NOT say that I do not repeat meals, because I totally do. Sometimes by request and sometimes due to laziness.
      I am toying with the idea of weekly meal planning. 🙂

      • Amy

        Well, you know, I make spaghetti a lot. But one time I make it with meat, one time I make it without, the next time I use meatballs. :p

      • There’s nothing wrong with spaghetti. 🙂 I made my kids eat tuna burgers. Yea, that did not go well.

  3. I love your blog! I love the way you write! Nice job. I do meal-plan to some extent: Mostly weekly. I have a little white board on the side of our fridge where I have our favorite Top 13 meals, each with a number (and any # of versions of that meal in my head). On my to-do chalkboard, I have a teeny section for meals for the week which will read 1, 1 LO’s, 3, 4, 13, 9, 10… etc. meaning freezer soup, soup left-overs, pasta, baked pasta left-overs, tacos, etc. I’m turning out to be ridiculously organized, because if I’m not, well… I just don’t have the mental space these days to plan minute-by-minute. This system has been helping me keep my grocery bill very very low every week, too, as a lot of the meals I make use cheap, basic ingredients, and feed into each other. Also trying my hand at once-a-month cooking, making tons of freezer meals in one day. It’s exhausting that one day, but it takes a ton of pressure off me during the weeks that follow. And with baby #2 coming soon, I likes me the sound of THAT.

    • Thank you! I like what you said about a board on the side of the fridge with the top meals. That’s a great idea.
      I do, what I like to call, mini-freezer cooking days. I cook just a handful of things to keep on hand for nights (and mornings) when I’m really busy or feeling blah.
      Thanks for commenting!

Share your thoughts!

