Kabocha squash- an unusual suspect

Yesterday I showed you my lovely squash.  Don’t get cheeky, I’m talking about these squash.

Can Texans say cheeky and get away with it?  Here’s hoping the answer is yes! 😀

I oven roasted the kabocha squash,

which I keep mispronouncing as kobayashi…

making me think of Mr. Kobayashi,

making me think of  The Usual Suspects,

which makes me smile…

which is why I keep mispronouncing the name.

I’m funny that way.

Anyhoooo….


Back to the kabocha squash.  My sweet bloggy friend Allie sent me a link to Tiny Urban Kitchen who had a post on roasted kabocha squash.

I followed the recipe except…no truffle oil, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I added pumpkin pie spice to the seasoning list.

Why did I add pumpkin pie spice?

Well,

  1. I adore pumpkin pie spice, I use it as often as I can.
  2. The squash looks like a green pumpkin, once you cut it open it smells sweet, sort of fruity, sort of nutty, a little like a pumpkin-ey cantaloupe.
  3. And last reason, just because I can.  😉

Before

After

Here’s what you would need to roast a kabocha squash.

Oven Roasted Kabocha Squash
1 kabocha squash
1/4 tsp salt
pepper (to taste)
2 T vegetable oil (I used olive oil)
truffle oil (optional)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Grab your ingredients and head on over to Tiny Urban Kitchen.

The baked squash has a velvety, buttery texture.  The skin is totally edible.  It is very tasty.  I will buy a kabocha squash again.  My daughter says it tastes like dessert.  That’s fine by me.  Dessert it is.

16 Comments

  1. I love eating the skin of the squash 🙂

  2. This looks wonderful. I love cloves and all the things that go in pumpkin pie!

    • Thank you. Me too, LOVE pumpkin pie spices!

  3. I agree with your daughter–this squash is totally dessert-worthy. Love the idea to add pumpkin pie spice! I think I need to go pick some up (orrr be less lazy and put some together 😀 )–would be great in my sweet potato butter too.

    • Yum! Totally make the spice, it’s easy.

  4. You have a lovely squash 🙂 and I would eat this as a starter, main and dessert..yum!

    • Why Thank you! Ha! 🙂

  5. I love squash in all it’s forms (from summer to winter) and I definitely think pumpkin as an ingredient gets underused. Your kabocha looks lovely, especially with the pumpkin pie spice.

  6. What yummy looking squash!

  7. Now that’s a fun name for a squash! I’m all about pumpkin pie spice especially these next few months I’ll be sprinkling it in and on many of my dishes!!

  8. That’s maybe the best desert ever! Did you save me leftovers? Thanks for linking up and sharing!

    • I’m afraid we gobbled them all up. 😀 Thank you for the awesome Link up!

Share your thoughts!