Meatless Monday and a Meatless Monday linky

I’m going to try something new this week. A linky for Meatless Monday. I’m sure that I am not the only one going meatless on Monday (or one day a week). If you post meatless dishes (does not have to be on Monday, and it does not have to be a new post) please feel free to link up here. The link will be open until Sunday. I plan to do this linky weekly. I will do a round-up post on Mondays with the best Veggie dishes.

Here is what I’m making for Meatless Monday. I’m making a dish from $5 dinners. I’ve added potatoes and shallots to it, but other than that it is according to Erin’s recipe. Click the above link to see Erin’s recipe.

My only added instructions are these, if you’re planning to add potatoes to this recipe…cook the potatoes first, place them in the greased baking dish and then proceed with Erin’s instructions. Adding the potatoes increased my bake time, or perhaps the fact that I baked all 4 eggs in 1 large casserole dish instead of two smaller ones like Erin did. My cook time was 20 min. not the 10 min. posted in the recipe.

This dish is really tasty.

Baked eggs~ with potatoes and spinach.

Here’s what you’ll need.

  • Potatoes
  • garlic
  • fresh spinach
  • diced tomatoes
  • onion/shallots
  • eggs
  • Salt and pepper
To see Erin’s full recipe, Baked Eggs with Spinach

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To add your meatless recipe to the list click the linky below and follow the instructions.


18 Comments

  1. Love the slidshow and I love the idea of adding some spinach to baked eggs. My meatless dish won’t go up until about 10 tonight. If I’m still awake then…

    • Thanks. I do love the slideshows! I pre-made for the pictures and taste test so I could post it early in the day. I’ll make it again tonight for dinner. 🙂 Leftovers don’t last long in a house with a teenaged boy.

  2. Looks delicious – I could use my chard instead of spinach!

    • Yes! That would work. You could also link your Mediterranean Vegetable Stack on the linky if you wanted to. It looks fabulous!

  3. I linked up an old post, I hope that’s ok, as it’s one of my favourite dishes. And I’m vegetarian, so I eat meat-free every day 🙂

    • Of course Rachel, older posts are welcome too. Thank you for participating. My intention is to do this linky weekly. I like the idea of sharing our meatless dish ideas. 🙂

  4. I am all for meatless Mondays. Looks delicious.

    • Thanks for the comment! I really enjoy being meatless once a week. I’m too much of a carnivore to go totally meatless, but meatless Monday starts the off right!

  5. Meatless Monday is so great for the environment! I love that you are sharing and encouraging it. Have a beautiful day!

    • Thanks for the comment Wendy! You have a wonderful day too!

  6. You made the perfect meal in my opinion! My husband and I adore spinach and eggs, and we would love this! We’ve made it before but never with potatoes. What a great idea! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the comment Sheila! I found your ice cream recipe. Awesome! If you have a meatless dish, please feel free to add it to the link-up.

  7. I love the concept of meatless, but my husband thinks bacon is a condiment 🙂

    • HA! You’re very funny Tandy. My family adores bacon too. I’m the only one who truly knows how to cook though so they’re sorta stuck with what ever I decide to make.

  8. I tried TWICE to do a meatless Monday and the hubs HATES it! 😦 He’s like “why don’t you warn me before you do this next time so I can pick up some MEAT to add with whatever you’re cooking”

    UGH!

    • LOL! My husband is sweetly tolerant of it, as long as I don’t mention black bean burgers. I mentioned making black bean burgers once and he said, “You know what would be good in a black bean burger?” I asked “what?” he said “some meat!” LOL!

  9. oh no! i got closed out of the link 😦 here’s this week’s anyway: http://peekababyny.com/cooking/post-746/

    • Sorry about that Jessica, the linky you were trying to link up to was from July.

Share your thoughts!