The things I find on the inter-webs.

Unsifted wheat flour

Image via Wikipedia

It’s funny, the blogs I find on the inter-webs.

Last night I found this great looking pound cake recipe on Lenore Diane’s Thoughts exactly.

It looks like a great recipe, I’m going to try it tomorrow.

One problem, no cake flour.

I can buy cake flour, but if I can “fix” my flour to use it for the recipe I can save money.

Yes, I’m that frugal.

Odd, I know, I’ll spend $4 on Leeks but I find a way around having to buy cake flour.  While looking for a way to make my flour into cake flour (corn starch is the answer, by the way). I found this little gem.

Joy the Baker. I have added a few items to my grocery list so I can try a few of her recipes. Sweet Tea Bourbon Cocktails   Hello, yum!

I love finding “new to me” blogs, and I usually save this sort of information for my “What I’m reading” posts, but sometimes, some things just get me too excited to wait.

Look for a post from me tomorrow about the pound cake and maybe the Sweet Tea Bourbon Cocktails  also.

Have you read any exciting posts lately? I’d love to hear about them!

8 Comments

  1. That cocktail rules. Basically I just make my normal tea and add bourbon, orange and mint. Sounds so good! Thanks for sharing!

    • It does sound good. I’m buying oranges tomorrow so I can try it. I usually use my mint for making mint julep. It’s nice to find other boozie ways to use my mint!

  2. Oh and since you asked for great stuff, this was in Chef Pandita’s Monday roundup: http://hungryrabbitnyc.com/2011/05/strawberry-n-cream/.

    • Goodness that does look very, very good! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Thanks for the ping, JamieAnne. Be sure to let me know how you like the cake. And, is corn starch really the only thing you need to add to all purpose flour to make it cake flour? Brilliant!

    • You’re welcome Lenore! You sold me on the pound cake, in part, because of the bunt pan. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  4. April Driggers

    Ok, now I have cake flour and bread flour and… well, yeah, I have five different kinds of flour b/c I love to bake! 🙂 My favorite cookies call for cake flour and I wasn’t about to risk it! 🙂

    • I have two kinds right now April, but I’m out if cake flour.

Share your thoughts!