This week in FAIL….Apricot-Orange marmalade-y syrup

I was planning to make Apricot-Orange marmalade over the weekend. I had my recipe all ready, I had apricots and oranges…Oh boy the FAIL.

I got Apricot-Orange syrup, not marmalade. It was a sticky, sweet blunder, that included a boil over and marmalade-y syrup all over my stove top. Oy Vey!

So, I did a few things wrong.

  • I stepped away from the boiling pot and thus invited the boil over, this was a BIG mistake….that stuff is S T I C K Y!!
  • I got distracted while adding the sugar and I’m certain I added too much sugar. (Like 2 cups too much sugar)
  • I went pectin free…Yeah, probably should have added pectin.

The syrup tastes great, but it’s no marmalade, it’s not a jam or even a fruit spread…it’s a thick, sweet liquid.

Please enjoy pictures of my Apricot-Orange marmalade-y syrup-y fail.

I’ll be looking for ways to use this syrup. My daughter wants to try it on pancakes.

Is it a true FAIL if I can find ways to use it?

I don’t know, maybe. My daughter says no.

We put some on our leftover polenta, it was a super yummy dessert.

14 Comments

  1. I had a marmalade fail. The good news is it makes good marinades.

    • Yep, as far as fails go…. It’s atleast a sweet, useable fail.

  2. Sounds like it would be delicious over pancakes or waffles! And failures are kinda fun in their own way (although good marmalade is a pretty awesome thing to have)

    • Yep, it’s great on pollenta, I’m sure it will be wonderful on pancakes. 🙂
      You’re right about the fails, they’re fun experiences.
      Except the sticky mess all over the cooktop. That was not fun. Nope. Not fun.

  3. ..and you can reboil it until it sets (but why bother…ikt looks great and it sounds like you´ve got lots of lovely ways to use it!). Failures are sometimes successes in disguise!

    • So true Tanya! So true.

      I considered re-boiling it, but my kids like the idea of the syrup.

  4. Janice

    It’s not a FAIL, it’s a creation….I agree with your daughter.

    • Awesome! I created apricot syrup. 😉

  5. It is not a fail..think of it this way..many of the wonderful recipes we love must have started as a mistake in someone’s kitchen.
    I think you can icecream to it and make smoothies, I ‘m sure it will be amazing on pancakes too

    • You’re right. I like the idea of using it on ice cream. Yum!

      I know it was not a total fail, but it was not what I expected.

  6. I had the exact same result when I made marmalade with fructose! I have used it in my granola recipe and it is fantastic 🙂

    • That is an idea I had not considered. It would work like the honey or maple syrup I use when I make granola. Great idea Tandy! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted peaches « Chef in disguise
  2. Fruity Nutty Bars « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!