Where I do what I do…

Where do I cook? Where do I write?

Have these questions plagued you? Do you stay up at night thinking about my kitchen, my creative space?

I hope not.

That might mean you’re considering stalking me, which would be REALLY boring for you.

For Reals.

It could mean that most of the TV shows this season are poop, and you’re searching for something to entertain you.

Heh! Trust me, it’s not me.

KTHXBAI! πŸ˜‰

I tease. I’m sure my kitchen has never crossed your mind.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A number of the blogs I follow have posted lovely pictures of where they write, the views from their desks, lovely things like that.

I live in the suburbs. My views are of my backyard, which you’ve seen via my gardening posts, and other people’s houses.

Yeah. Not breath-taking or inspiring.

Sorry neighbors.

I write my posts via my laptop, sometimes I write my posts on my iPad or my iPhone. All that is to say that I am really mobile and I write my posts in all sorts of places.

My current view is this…..

20111031-230501.jpg

My super spooky fireplace

I’m writing from my couch.

Sometimes I write from my dining room and my view is usually like this…

20111031-230441.jpg

This globe belonged to my Nana. It lights up, it is also an old, out of date globe, but it lights up.

If I sit in a different spot in the dining room my view is this……

20111031-230450.jpg

My entry way table.

Sometimes I write in our office, other times I write in my bedroom, in the car….I’m super random like that.

What I can show you, what is constant is where I cook. I have a galley style kitchen. It is long, with lots of lovely cabinets and counter-top space.

20111031-230336.jpg

a view from the dining room entry way

Since my kitchen is a galley style, it’s not super wide, we call it a two-three butt kitchen.

20111031-230348.jpg

My precious coffee pot and one of my famous slow cookers

The center drawer area is a lazy-Susan. I’m thankful for it, the lazy-Susan makes use of awkward spaces.

20111031-230403.jpg

Da Stove.

It’s not fancy. It’s electric. It’s persnickety. I like it, I hate it, our relationship is…….complicated.

20111031-230412.jpg

My lovely counter-top space, and the bar opening that keep me sane and connected to the living room.

I love the counter-top space.

Since I am afflicted with the little known “*flat surface disorder” the long open counter-top is very comforting.

*Flat Surface Disorder- is a disorder compelling me to fill up any flat surface with stuff. Papers, books, nick-knacks…you get the point.

I’m not a hoarder, I just like stuff. πŸ˜€

Don’t judge, just go with it.

Other random pictures…… of my sangria.

20111031-230514.jpg

Sangria served in my wedding crystal. Fancy-Schmancy.

20111031-230522.jpg

Got sliced fruit?

Where do you cook? Where do you write?

Because yes, I might be considering stalking you.

Cue evil laughter………MUAHAHAHAHA!

Link up your smart phone photo posts with iPhone Photo Phun

25 Comments

  1. andrea

    Nice….:-)

  2. I like the entry-way table. We never have found the right one for our area. I also like all your counter space.

  3. I like the severed arm by the fireplace its a nice touch. I write at the kitchen table or on the sofa. Im at the kitchen table right now working from home

  4. Looks like the kitchen in my mom’s house…only WAY more productive than hers ever was…
    Thanks for doing this!

  5. thanks for sharing! It’s always fun to see behind the scenes!!

  6. I thikn we have the same flat surface disorder! WHy have all that space if youΒ΄re not going to use it…right?! And like you, I tend to move around with my laptop depending on the weather, what else is going on in the house and my mood! Thanks for sharing, love your kitchen πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, I loved talking a virtual walk around your house, thanks for sharing such lovely pics with us all. I have it on my list to share my space too – just need to get around to doing it!
    have a great day.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  8. You have a great kitchen! I write from a laptop in my kitchen. This is my first visit to your blog, so I took some time to browse through your earlier posts. I’m so glad I did that. You’ve created a great place for your readers to visit and I really enjoyed the time I spent here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  9. I’ll admit, I have considered stalking you, but now the job’s done for me, so on to the next creepy activity of the week πŸ˜€ Love the fireplace, looks so cute all decorated! And all that counter space in your kitchen is fabulous! I would love to have mine that open, but it turns out I have roommates, and they have stuff, and even if that stuff gets moved by an anonymous party, more stuff arrives to take it’s place. I cook in said kitchen–I might need to copy you and post a few pictures of my own! And I write…at work. But let’s keep that our little secret ;D

    • Ha! Clearly your roomies have flat surface disorder. It’s quite common.

      I’d love to see your kitchen! πŸ™‚

      I’m sure I’d write from work too, if I
      worked outside the home. πŸ˜€
      At least you look super productive, typing away at your desk.

      • Exactly, as long as I look like I’m editing away over here, the deception continues πŸ˜€ And “kitchen” has been added to my “to-blog” list…

      • Heh! Editing! Yeah. That’s it. πŸ˜‰

        Can’t wait to see your kitchen!

  10. I’d have to clean up to show you pics. Not happening!

    But, I will take some sangria. πŸ˜‰

  11. Well we all know where i write but I am so upset.. i have NO sangria at hand in a super glass jug.. i am miserable! i shall have to rectify that tout suite! c

  12. lol cute post!! I like how you showed all the places you write.. =)

  13. I like seeing where people cook and write, but those places for me aren’t too inspiring (at least in my condo). However, what I produce from writing and cooking gives me more than enough inspiration!

  14. Love it all… Missed you…My computer drank two much sangria and ran away with a red-headed redneck girl!!!( Lucky Chump)!!! And then Old Man Winter reared his ugly head and ran away with my Summer Time!!! Now, I really want to go to the State Fair…wouldn’t mind seeing you there, come to think of it…
    God Bless You
    paul

  15. love the name of your disorder! I don’t have enough space to suffer from it but I could be tempted when we build our new kitchen πŸ™‚

  16. KLZ

    I love your spooky fireplace – and sort of want some sangria now. Perhaps I shall drink it by your fireplace…when I come over…

    • Yay! Unexpected company. Shall I leave the light on? πŸ™‚

  17. Love this glimpse into your day!

    And sangria? Yum! πŸ™‚

  18. This was an awesome idea for a post. I often wonder where my favorite bloggers blog. Although I’d hate to post a picture of what I’m looking at right now…a pile of Halloween decorations that need to be put back in the garage.

    BTW, I loved your mantle. It’s so creative to use that bottom tiled space. I have a fireplace like that and it never occurred to be to incorporate my decor into it. Thanks for the great idea.

  19. Jamie

    Today it warmed up and I sat outside. I also brought my laptop to two doctor’s offices. And I write in the car waiting for kids. That Sangria looks great about now.

    • You’re an on the go gal!

  20. Spooky fireplace is so good and that sangria?! YUMMY!

Share your thoughts!

