Trippin’

I talked earlier this week about our vacation plans.

We’re driving to Alabama from our home in Texas.

I’ve very little idea what we’ll do while we are there…….because we’re going to visit with family.

Family I have not seen in over 20 years.
A nephew and 2 nieces I have never met.

My sister and father had a “between them” issue when I was 20 which resulted in an estrangement and my sister and I lost track of each other.

It’s a little weird. I’m a middle-first child. I’m my Father’s middle child and my Mother’s first child.

My half-sister is 6 years older than me. My brother is 2 years younger than me. I also have 2 step sisters.

When I was 13, my big sister was the coolest person I’d ever met….by far.

When I was 20, she was a full fledged adult and I was….. So Not an Adult yet. (That took another 6 years)

I’m excited, nervous, anxious, and did I mention excited?!

What if we don’t click in person?

What if our families don’t have enough in common.

What if…

So I’m twitchy this week. Nervous excitement does that to me.

16 Comments

  1. pamasaurus

    Oh man. I can’t even imagine! I have 4 half-siblings (two older and two younger) who I have never met. I’d be a wreck if I were ever in your position.

    Just breath, though! It’ll go fine. If it doesn’t, then at least you know, right? Good luck!

  2. Janice

    You are an EXTREMELY nice and pleasant person. I don’t think you’ll have any problems clicking….Best wishes! I’m sure everything will go just fine.

    • Thank you Janice. Since you know me offline & on that makes me feel a bit more secure.

  3. Here’s to you having a great trip filled with love.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  4. Be yourself…relationships canΒ΄t be forced, but I am sure all will be wonderful! PS. Love the new look πŸ™‚

  5. Ashley Marie

    Just breathe & be yourself! They can take it or leave it! I hope you have a safe trip and a fun reunion!

    • Thank you Ashley! I’m feeling more secure today. Sometimes I worry myself too much.

  6. jdaniel4smom

    I think they will be happy just to see you! You sound like a wonderful person!

  7. That’s a lot. I’m sure it will be fun! πŸ™‚

  8. Ohh, what an exciting (and yeah, probably a little scary–but hopefully in a good way!) adventure! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    • Thanks Allie!! We’re on our way!

  9. I can only imagine how scary that would be for you! I wish you the best of luck and I hope it works out GREAT!!!

    • Thank you so much Jamie! I hope your little one is feeling a bit better.

  10. How exciting! Your trip is full of possibility and I am sure you are going to have a wonderful time! My family is fully of siblings who don’t talk, estrangement and resentments, too…and life is so short! It pleases me to hear you’re going to step out and make some inroads! Lovely! Debra

  11. I hope that it all goes well! I’m visiting family this week and it’s always a little awkward, yet still fun.

Share your thoughts!

