Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Memorial Day is an important holiday to me. It’s about more than just a day off and great food. My Grandfather’s funeral was on Memorial Day.

My Grandfather was very important to me. He and my Grandmother lived within walking distance of my teenage home. I spent many hours with my Grandparents. My Grandfather took me for my driving test at 16 and spent hours in his station wagon with me teaching me how to parallel park.

My Grandfather served in World War II. He was a brave Air Force Navigator.

I honor and remember the sacrifices of our Military everyday.

Pulled pork says Summer to me.

Using the Slow Cooker says easy to me.

Paper plates are fancy, if the food on them is tasty.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork, lightly adapted from a Fox4 Good Day recipe segment.

  • 1 bone in pork butt, fat trimmed, approximately 4-6 pounds
  • 1 can of Chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons of mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of turmeric
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • pinch of black pepper
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 yellow onion, peeled

Place all the ingredients except the pork into a food processor and pulse them into a paste.

Place the pork into your slow cooker. It goes without saying that you need to remove the meats packaging right?

Place the spice mixture on top of the roast.Cook on Low for 8-10 hours.

Drain any fatty bits and most of the juice. The meat will be fall off the bone tender.

shredded heaven…..

Return the meat to the slow cooker and use the “Warm” setting to keep it sandwich ready for hours.

Enjoy!

7 Comments

  1. Janice

    What a special day for you! Thanks for sharing a nice memory of your grandfather.

  2. He sounds like he was a very fine man and it´s great you have such wonderful memories of him. We need to honour those who went before us and it´s good to have a special day to do it. Have to say too that I think this is a beautiful recipe – thanks for sharing!

  3. How lovely to commemorate the day of your grandfathers death with a meal i am sure he would love.. have a nice day off.. c

  4. Happy Memorial Day!

  5. Loooks good. Yes, I know there are are only two “o”‘s in look, but you know what, I don’t feel like going back and correcting it.

  6. I’m looking at your photos and inhaling the aroma of the cooking pork downstairs. I can smell it in every room. I cannot wait for dinner!

  7. Looks yummy!

Share your thoughts!

