Chicken Taco Salad

Taco Salad, remade.

 

When I was young,  my mother made taco salad all the time.    Ground beef, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, pinto beans, Catalina dressing and Doritos.   We had this version of taco salad almost weekly.

When I married and became the “cook” I began making the salad too.

It’s very kid friendly, it’s easy to assemble and made with ground chicken it’s healthier.

This salad is also yummy, meat free.

Very simply….

  • 1 pound of ground chicken, browned
  • 1 head of lettuce or one bag of salad mix
  • 1 tomato diced
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese (more or less at your preference)
  • 1 can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups of Doritos, (placed in a bag and broken up into small pieces *but not crushed*)
  • 1/3 cup + of Catalina dressing, I make my own.  Recipe follows..

To make the salad, add all the ingredients (except the dressing) into a bowl.  Mix well, slowly add dressing until the salad is covered, but not drowning.

Catalina Dressing

Makes about 2 cups of dressing.

  • 1/3 cup ketchup, any brand
  • 1/3 cup of white sugar or 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup onion , grated
  • 2/3 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/3 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 2/3 teaspoon (to taste) salt and pepper
Place all the ingredients except the olive oil into a blender or food processor, pulse or blend until smooth.
Slowly add the oil, while continuing to blend.  Place into a mason jar or other container.  Store left over dressing in the fridge.  Shake before using.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Comments

  1. This is a new one to me – both the salad and the dressing. I love the sound of it!

  2. pamasaurus

    MMMM! I love Catalina dressing! Thanks for sharing; I’m definitely going to have to make this :D

  3. This is exactly how my mom made taco salad too! But, she used the purchased dressing. It makes me think of summer. Going to have to make some now :P)

    • I agree, Catalina dressing is a little taste of summer. :)

  4. Catalina dressing? I haven’t seen that since I left the states. I’m so making this tomorrow!! Thanks!

  5. Sounds delicious.

  6. this looks yummy; haven’t had taco salad in a long time! Thanks for sharing!

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

