Chicken Migas

20120408-120136.jpg

grab a tortilla and sit a spell.

Generally I agree with The Pioneer Woman on most food related issues.

To me though, Migas is not Migas without Chorizo.

Chorizo is really greasy and fatty though. šŸ˜¦ A local market, I adore Sprouts Farmer’s Market, sells ground chicken chorizo. I decided to give the chicken a try and boy, howdy I’m glad I did. Chicken Chorizo is excellent.

I adapted a Pioneer Woman recipe, I added 1 pound of chicken Chorizo I browned it, drained off the minimal fat and proceeded with Ree’s recipe.

A few things I altered.

  • I omitted the JalapeƱo, due to a tween with a low spicy tolerance.
  • I used 2% milk instead of Half-and-half
  • I used cheddar cheese

Here is the original recipe ingredient list.

  • 4 whole Corn Tortillas
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Seeds And Membranes Removed, Finely Diced
  • 4 whole Plum Tomatoes, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Green Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 whole Medium Onion, Chopped
  • 12 whole Large Eggs
  • 1/4 liter Cotija Cheese, Grated (may Use Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Etc.)
  • 1/3 cup Cilantro, Chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup Half-and-half

To view entire recipe click here.

Serve with refried beans and corn or flour tortillas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of migas, but I do know chorizo. This sounds tasty!

  2. I have to try these!! They look delicious!

  3. kat

    chorizo is so good!

Share your thoughts!

