Popping corn

Please pardon my recent absence from blogging. Since Monday I’ve been tending to three sick people. That’s right, I’ve been in a house full of sickies!

I’m happy to report that everyone is on the mend!

Cooking for people who have bad colds or worse is different than regular everyday cooking. When my family is sick I focus on the comfort foods they love. Soups, chili, baked fish and……
Popped corn.

Recently, I began to make microwave pop corn in plain paper bags. There’s no oil, you control the portion and the toppings.

Here’s how I make it.

Take 1 paper lunch sack.

20120217-134659.jpg

Add 1/8 cup of popping corn. I’ve got some fancy red and white corn.

20120217-134754.jpg

20120217-134807.jpg

Place the popping corn into the paper bag. Fold the top of the bag over 2-3 times.
Microwave for 1:30 to 2:00 minutes, for fancy corn. Longer 3:00-3:30 minutes for regular popping corn.
When the popping slows, remove the bag from the microwave and place the popped corn into a bowl.

Add salt or butter or whatever you like to the popped corn.
Enjoy!

20120217-135113.jpg

8 Comments

  1. Fun!

  2. Great Idea! I never thought of that.

  3. What a fantastic idea, i shall tell The matriarch. She eats popcorn. I don’t even have a microwave!! c

  4. I’ve never tried this in the microwave before. I’m going down to the kitchen right now and trying it. 🙂

    Thanks!

  5. I tried it! it works a treat 🙂

  6. Reminds me of when my granny let me plant 1/2 acre of my own Popcorn years ago.
    Great Idea…

  7. So much quicker and easier.
    🙂 Mandy

  8. I need to buy some paper bags! I’ve heard it works really well and keep meaning to try it out. I make mine on the stove for now, so it’s minimal oil. Yummm, popcorn! Especially with hot sauce on it…

Share your thoughts!

