Slow Cooker Apple-Pear Butter

Apple-Pear Butter

Slow Cookers are wonders when it comes to cooking beans, chili, roasts, soups and stews.

Slow Cookers are also wonderful for making apple sauces, cranberry sauce and apple-pear butter.

I hope you’ll join Allie and me for this week’s slow cooker link-up.

20120101-180853.jpg

apples and pears are really great friends

Apple-Pear Butter, slightly adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe

  • Wash, seed and slice 4-5 organic apples and 4-5 organic pears *I prefer to leave the skins on*
  • place them in the slow cooker
  • add 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons of cinnamon or a cinnamon stick or mulling spices tied up in a little bag
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt

Cook on High for 4 hours.

  • Mash the fruit with a potato masher

Cook for about 3  more hours on High.  Until the mixture has a golden color and thick.

  • 20120101-181138.jpgProcess in the food processor in batches. I prefer to leave the skins on the fruit, Martha says in her recipe to skin them.

Consider this information from LiveStrong.com

“Fiber and Nutrients

A medium apple without the skin has 2.1 g of fiber, while the same apple with the skin has more than double that amount of fiber, or 4.4 g. Eating a medium pear with the skin will give you 5.5 g of fiber, while removing the skin will cut your fiber by more than half. In addition to containing a large portion of the fiber found in apples and pears, the skin of these fruits also contain most of the nutrients and antioxidants that are important for your health. Not eating the skin could prevent you from getting the full benefits of these healthy fruits”

So, that is why I leave the skins on my organic fruit.

  • 20120101-180924.jpgTransfer into jars or containers
20120101-180932.jpg

2 pint-sized jars, for my family

  • Can be stored in the fridge for 3 weeks or frozen for up to 3 months
20120101-180942.jpg

Toast rounds, they're like toast only smaller and more...well..round

  • Enjoy on toast.

20120101-180952.jpg

11 Comments

  1. Wow, love the color, looks great.

  2. Yummmm. I tried making apple butter earlier in the fall, but I got impatient and ended up with deliciously thick applesauce instead. That most certainly wasn’t a disaster…

  3. Lovely, lovely, lovely! Could just eat a slice of toast with this and a cup of coffee!

  4. That looks delicious! Mine took two days in the crock pot! It was too sweet. Mabye I shouldn’t have cooked it so long, but that’s what the recipe said. I like apple butter better than pear butter anyway. I’ll have to try your recipe! Thanks for the ping back!

  5. I need to get me a slow cooker. My sister-in-law had one and she made all her baby food from scratch using that. That apple and pear butter looks divine!

  6. I just love cooking in my slow cooker.. so I absolutely love this apple pear butter recipe. Amazing

  7. That sounds really good! I’ve never made anything like this, so I’ll have to try it out!

  8. This looks delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Slow cooker Monday « A Dash of Domestic
  2. Chili for the slow cooker | Chef Doru's Blog
  3. Slow Cooker Monday, this week in FAIL « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

