Boozy fruit bread

20111230-112602.jpg

Batter, the way to a southern girl's heart

Hello my dears!  Happy New Year’s eve, or Happy New Year (depending on your location)

I’ve been M.I.A. for a few days.

I hope you have all had a wonderful holiday season, I wish for you a harmonious, love filled new year!

We’re planning to attend a party this evening 🙂

I thought I would share with you the recipe I’ve used the Boozy Fruit in.

When I was younger, my mother made a dried fruit filled bread.  It was always a hit at Christmas celebrations.  She would soak the dried fruit in warm honey filled water before baking the bread.

She also used a store-bought bread mix.

This was her alternative to fruit cake, I believe that fruit cake aversion is an inherited characteristic.

My Mother uses a date bread mix as the base for her dried fruit bread,  I have tried many other “base” breads and they don’t turn out right.

I have tried a few recipes over the years, my preferred date bread recipe is an Ina Garten recipe.

I added dates to my boozy fruit a few days ago.

Because I had about 4 cups of boozy fruit, I doubled the bread recipe.

I  omitted the 1/3 cup Cointreau or Triple Sec since I had used brandy to soak my fruit, and I omitted the nuts.

The double recipe made 1 large bunt style bread and 4 mini loaves.

The baking time for the bunt was longer than the recipe called for because it was larger.  The bunt took about 68-70 minutes.

20111230-112625.jpg

The bread is moist, flavorful and a bit boozy.

20111230-112633.jpg

Cream cheese would be an awesome topping.

20111230-112643.jpg

Yes, I used a plastic plate. I know, classy.

I won’t use figs next time, the figs soaked up so much of the brandy that they were similar to cherry bombs, except not as sweet.

When I was a single gal, going to nightclubs with my friends we loved the boozy cherries you could buy at the bar.

This bread is absolutely ADULT ONLY.

Happy New Year peeps!

I’ll see you on Monday for our Slow Cooker recipe link-up with Miss Allie!

5 Comments

  1. Yum!

  2. this is great and i also have a little boozy fruit left over.. as soon as i am back off the ‘celi diet back to normal plan’ I will make this!! yum! c

  3. What a fantastic use for the boozy fruit – I too have a little left so it could find it´s way into a loaf of this. And like you, i loved those cherries too! It´s still just about 2011 here, so Happy New Year!

  4. Good to know about figs! This does look great.

  5. Sounds delicious…boozy bread, count me in!

Share your thoughts!

