Baking, outside of my comfort zone

This morning we’re off to A Tuba Christmas in downtown Dallas.
Our son is participating this year.

Anyhoo, back to my baking issue.
I’ve got family members with food allergies.

I’m sure I am not alone.

On Christmas Eve, we will be having brunch with my Sister-in-Love and her family. Michelle and her family have recently removed gluten, dairy and soy from their diets, also known as (GFDFSF)

Meaning choices about what to bring to Christmas Eve Brunch

just

got

tricky

Thank goodness my bacon jam is (GFDFSF). I’ll be bringing it, but I also wanted to bring something sweet. Something I could leave with them, something for Christmas morning.

I remembered an e-mail I got from MyBlogSpark with Betty Crocker recipes attached. I checked out the list of Betty 10: Red Hot Holiday Trends and found a recipe for Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread.

Score!

I had to alter the recipe a smidge, because I do not have any dairy free chocolate chips. I used dried cranberries instead.

I also found a large list of Gluten-Free recipes from Betty Crocker. A handy resource for those who are gluten-free

Gluten-free products (pre-packaged) are more expensive than their regular flour cousins. Like 3 times the price. Regular Betty Crocker cake mix was $1.49, Gluten-free cake mix was $4.49. Betty Crocker does have a coupon available on their website for .85 cents off the purchase of any Gluten-free dessert mix.

Other than changing the chocolate chips to dried cranberries, I followed the directions listed on the recipe.

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread

20111222-122525.jpg
The mix

I made 4 small breads. 1 for tasting (and blog purposes) the other 3 for Christmas Eve.

20111222-122538.jpg
Ready to go into the oven.

The rice flour does not rise much, so it is important to shape the loaves before you bake them. If you don’t you’ll have ugly loaves…like I do.

20111222-130852.jpg
they do not rise much.

The bread is moist, very moist….it is not exactly the texture we are use to from bread, but it does taste pretty good.

20111222-132924.jpg
Sampled with cinnamon butter, because I’ve got no food allergies.

I love that there are recipes and options like this for those who are (GFDFSF).

I would like to wish you all a Happy Holiday.

Merry Christmas!

9 Comments

  1. Sounds like a busy weekend, have a great time.

  2. Merry Christmas! The bread looks delicious! I’m thankful we don’t have any restrictions on food offerings in our family. The picky eaters just have to pick. Haha! The rest of us feast!

  3. Merry Christmas to you too and well done for rising to the challenge…I´d have found that really tough 😦

  4. Gluten-free baking is definitely a challenge, so way to go with the breads! GF does tend to be moister/denser, but that’s not always a problem. Especially with dessert breads. With cranberries. Yum yum. And MERRY CHRISTMAS to you too, lovely blogging lady!

  5. I believe all gluten free breads are more like cake than bread – not that that helps you, sorry – well done on sourcing such a great recipe.
    Have a fantastic time with the family and Merry Christmas to you all.
    🙂 Mandy

  6. I think that might be one of my new year’s resolutions to try more gluten-free baking. Great post and happy holidays!

  7. I found out my niece was diagnosed as celiac AFTER I brought dessert to a Chanuka party. I told my sister-in-law that had I known, I would have made something GF. I have a great chocolate cookie recipe (which I sent her the next day) that is gluten-free, dairy-free and soy free: http://pragmaticattic.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/chocolate-cookies-you-must-make-for-passover/
    I make a lot of gluten, dairy and soy free recipes for Passover (another search term if you are looking for gluten free, although some Passover recipes are NOT gluten free because they use matzoh meal or matzoh cake meal).
    If you are looking for a cakier gluten free cake, I have a chocolate cake recipe that I really like, too (gluten free German chocolate cake), plus brownies.

  8. I have a friend who I bake gluten free desserts for so I feel your efforts in baking something that will taste and look good! I think you did a great job and it was very sweet of you to try to please her!

  9. Thank you for thinking about us and working so hard to make a yummy treat that meets our new way of eating… you’re so thoughtful and kind! The bread was DELICIOUS and I’m so glad to have the recipe here to follow again in the future! Love, Michelle

Share your thoughts!

