I’m a elementary school Room-Mom stuck in a middle school world

Right about now, Elementary School Room-Moms all over the United States are gearing up for the big, blow out, elementary school bash known as “The Holiday Party”.

They are hard at work setting up the party snacks, prepping the party activities and planning out the teacher gifts.

This was my life for 7 years, and I loved/hated every moment of it.

My sweet girl. 1st grade.

The middle school mom gig is WAYYYYYY less involved. Sure there is still P.T.A. to wrestle with and book sales.

Do you know the true stab to the Room-Mother’s heart?

No? Well, I’ll tell you.

Middle school has No Room-Moms..

In fact, for the most part, by 6th grade the teachers are pretty much OVER parent involvement and they don’t do parties in middle school. Instead, they host awkward, over priced dances where the children stand in small groups and just generally look like they’ve had a wet sock stuck down the back of their pants.

I miss planning parties and activities. I miss going on field trips.

I really miss being a Room-Mom

6 Comments

  1. LOL @ the wet sock description!

    But, no field trips??? That’s just mean!

  2. Ahh….so sad 😦 You´ll just have to have more parties at home 🙂

  3. We have just started the room parties in preschool. I really enjoy them.

  4. We don’t have room moms, which I am not sorry about because it would always be me.
    But there’s lot of opportunities to volunteer in school and in class.

  5. true, bring the parties (and the mommys) back to your place!! c

  6. You know, I don’t remember room moms in elementary school, but then again we had nuns teaching us. Though, I fondly remember yearly holiday pot luck parties with music till I was in 7th grade.

Share your thoughts!

