A year with No Santa…..

Christmas is one of my favorite holidays. It’s my favorite for so many reasons.

The celebration of the birth of Christ being reason number one.

I love the family time, I love the celebration,

and

I love Santa.

Santa is the whimsical fun of the Christmas season. Santa is magic and giving just for the sake of giving.

Santa is jolly and joyous and

Santa is no longer believed in at my home.

It’s a new thing in my house. Last year I had one who believed and one who “helped” me by not blowing the secret. This year both of my kids are too old to believe. I guess 7th grade is the belief cut off.

It’s making me a bit sad, to be honest. I really liked the excitement and joy that Santa created.

So, goodbye “Elf on the Shelf” you were kinda creepy anyway. Since the jig is up, we’ve got no reason to keep you around. I can’t say I’m sorry to see you go.

Yes, he's WATCHING at you and reporting back to Santa

We’re still doing an un-wrapped “Santa” gift this year, and stockings are a family tradition, but we’re in a brave new frontier of parenting. My kids are no longer little, no longer believe in magic, no longer excited about Santa.

It’s a brave, new Santa free world.

I've linked up with Shell, to pour my heart out.

20 Comments

  1. It was a sad day when my kids no longer believed! There is still alot of magic to the holiday and I will always remain a child at heart!

    • Me too! I love the magic of Christmas.

  2. Awww! I know it must feel so weird to not be doing the Santa thing after all these years. But I’m sure there are other ways you can make it memorable. I was going to do the Elf this year, but then again, I think Donut is way too little right now. She might get creeped out, lol!

    • The elf is fun, once they understand.

  3. Aww, this makes me think of my mom’s Santa talk. It kind of went like, you know about Santa right and I went yeah, mom. Sort of like our talk about something else!

  4. At least you’re still doing stockings! My parents and I do them for each other, and get up at 2am or other wee hours so that they will be stuffed in secret. A little goofy? Yes. Do I love it? Absolutely. It’s sad when that belief is gone, but there’s still so much magic in a good holiday regardless of whether you believe or not!

    • Very true Allie! I love that your parents still do stockings for each other.

      • Well, I usually end up doing each stocking for them, but they hand me the money for it and tell me to get stuff the other one would like, haha. I am their intermediary elf, I do believe.

  5. I believe, I believe!! Well, maybe it´s just a story….but I´m doing stockings for everyone and we´re all supposed to be Grown Ups 🙂

    • I love the stockings! Serious highlight for me every year. My parents still do stockings for us. I love all the neat little trinkets in the stockings!

  6. Great Anti-Santa post! Good luck in that new frontier!

    • Thanks. I may need the luck. Kids growing up is rough.

  7. We have a Santa decoration too which we call fat Santa. He always takes pride of place on the mantelpiece. Hopefully it’s just a phase your kids are going through 😦

    • Thanks. I think it’s just part of growing up. They’re excited about presents and time with family. Just not willing to be Santa-centric this year.

  8. That is so sweet, that they KNOW now, My mother used to say Father Christmas is LOVE, then when she got sprung no-one could call her a liar. c

    • Yes, I always said Santa was the spirit of Christmas.

  9. That’s okay. My nieces are just starting the “Elf on the Shelf” tradition!

  10. Up until I moved out, my parents still had “Santa” gifts under the tree for us, and stockings, too. It’s just too fun to give up!

  11. Aw, I am not looking forward to when the Santa days are gone!

Share your thoughts!

