Slow Cookin’ Monday…….

I’m going to talk about beans this week.  I think that beans are one of the items that I almost exclusively cook in my slow cooker.  It’s the easiest way I know to cook a big ‘ole pot of beans.

The rest of my posts this week will be Thanksgiving related.  I’m not going to talk about how to carve a turkey or the best ways to make mashed potatoes.

I am going to talk about what to do with your left over turkey.

If you’re linking up with Allie and me for this installment of Slow cooker recipes, please follow the link below to add your recipe post to the collection.

Make sure to check out Allie’s Vegan Pea soup, it looks mighty tasty!

For this week’s slow cooker post I’ve made Mayocoba Beans.

Here is a little background on Mayocoba beans.

This information is from Wikipedia.

Yellow beans

Sinaloa Azufrado, Sulphur, Mayocoba, and Peruano (also called canary) are types of yellow beans.

Peruano beans (also called canary beans) are small, oval, yellow-colored beans about 1/2 inch (1 cm) long with a thin skin. Peruano beans have a creamy texture when cooked, and are one of the top-selling beans in Mexico City.”

These beans will need to be soaked overnight.  Some dried bean-ey things like peas and lentils don’t need to be pre-soaked.  Here is a link to a useful guide for prep-ing  dried beans, peas and lentils.

I pre-soaked a 2 pound bag of Mayocoba beans.   Once the beans were soaked, I placed half of them (about a pound) into the slow cooker and the other half I placed into two freezer safe bags for later use.

Later, these beans will be put to use.

The beans I have frozen will be useful for other recipes. You could also cook the whole bag and then freeze half of the fully cooked beans.

Mayocoba beans are great with rice or great for making  Frijoles Refritos (refried beans).

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of mayocoba beans, pre-soaked and cleaned
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (about 3/4 of a cup)
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp of salt (or more to taste)
  • enough water (or homemade veggie stock) to cover the beans.  I used 1/2 veggie broth and 1/2 water (6 cups total)

I am cooking my beans in my slow cooker on HIGH for 7-8 hours.  If you wanted to convert this recipe for stove top cooking you will need to cook it for about 3 1/2 to 4 hours.

Once the beans are ready, serve them with rice.

Or… make refried beans.

To make refried beans, add 4 TBSP of vegetable oil to skillet.  Add the beans to the skillet and add 2 TBSP of the cooking liquid to the skillet.  Mash the beans with a potato masher or the back of a large cooking spoon.  Season to your taste.

           

Simmer until the beans reach the consistency you want, add more cooking liquid as needed.

Enjoy your homemade refried beans.

11 Comments

  1. Yep, I’ve never made dried beans any other way than in the slow cooker! It’s so easy! I do pintos or black beans most of the time, and my “refried” beans are just the leftovers mashed, no skillet or anything, haha. I will take the easiest path! I’ve never heard of mayocoba beans before–and I call myself a vegan! For shame, Allie…

  2. Have never heard of these either, will have to look out for them. Especially as I adore refried beans and yours look goooooood!

  3. That’s comfort food at its best.

  4. Ohhh how I love beans. What a simple, yet hearty and delicious dish! I actually didn’t use to be a huge fan of beans, but I find myself eating/cooking with them much more often now.

  5. Cooking beans in the crock is the best way!

  6. I must be the only one who has not used a slow cooker for my beans! I’ve learned a new trick today…thanks JamieAnne!

  7. My wife and daughter LOVE beans! Thanks for the great share!

Trackbacks

  1. Slow It Down: Pea Soup «
  2. Cake in a Jar « A Dash of Domestic
  3. Slow Cooker Apple-Pear Butter « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

