Banana Pumpkin Muffins

My continuing saga to use up my pie pumpkins…….

I made pumpkin banana muffins on Saturday night. We had some lovely friends over for dinner and I always like to send them home with some baked goodie for breakfast the next morning.

Since I had just baked pumpkin number 3 of 6, I figured pumpkin muffins was the best thing to make.

I planned to make pumpkin muffins. My sweet friend asked if I was adding anything to it. Bananas? Yes, why not.

Bet ya can't eat just one.....

Introducing:

Jamie and Lashelle’s Pumpkin and Banana Muffins

This recipe makes a LOT of muffins/quick bread.

  • 2 cups of pumpkin (canned or freshly baked)
  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 cups of cooking oil
  • 2/3 cups of water
  • 2 1/3 cups of sugar
  • 3 1/3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla

Mix the sugar and the liquid ingredients together. Sift together the dry ingredients. Mix the pumpkin mixture with the dry ingredients.

If you want to add nuts or raisins or cranberries do so at this point.

1/3 cup nuts

or

1/3 cup soaked raisins (soak the raisins in boiling water for 1 minute to plump them up)

or

1/3 cup of soaked (dried) cranberries or fresh cranberries

Bake at 350 degrees F for

mini muffins – about 20 minutes

muffins – about 30 minutes

mini bread loaf – about 30-45 minutes

Loaf sized quick bread – about an hour

Enjoy!

It's bite sized, if you have a big mouth like I do.

19 Comments

  1. Oh I love the idea of banana and pumpkin – perfect and who doesn’t enjoy a good muffin for breakfast.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

    • Muffins are the very best breakfast

  2. And IΒ΄m loving the concept of come for dinner, go home with breakfast. Is next Friday evening good for you?!

  3. I think that combination works mighty good!! I too love to pack up little treats to give to my guests when they leave!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who makes goodies to go for my guests.

  4. Sending goodies home with treats is such a great idea! Muffins are breakfast are so good, as shown by the apple cinnamon one I had just a little bit ago.

    • Yum! Apple Cinnamon sounds really good.

  5. Oh twice as nice!

  6. Ooo, these sound like they would be so moist and delicious. And too nice to send dinner guests home with MORE food!

    • They are very moist, very flavorful.

  7. I’m all about the addition of banana. These sound great! πŸ™‚

    • We had like minds today huh? Your pumpkin bread recipe looks amazing too.

  8. Yum. O. Must make.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment! I bet your littles would enjoy these. πŸ™‚

      You could enjoy them while browsing through the skymall magazines.

  9. Your quest seems to be taking a delicious route!

  10. Kristina

    I noticed that you have baking powder listed twice in the ingredients. I was thinking one of them is supposed to be baking soda? Could you clear that up for me please? I want to make sure and do the recipe right, it sounds so delicious. Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I have corrected the error.

Share your thoughts!

