Punch, not the kind that hurts….

Having a wonderful drink option available for your party guests is a MUST!  Because we are having a party with adults and children, I am making two different juice based punches. 

The first punch is a wonderful, kid friendly, punch made with jell-o.  I make different variations of this punch for many of my parties.    I love how easy it is to make this impressive and tasty punch.

The picture links back to the original  KRAFT recipe.

Ghoulishly Great Party Punch

Ghoulish Punch recipe
This is the photo from the Kraft website, I’m not making my punch until Saturday evening.
Adapted from a KRAFT recipe.

What You Need

I’ll mark the changes I make to the recipe in Orange, you know, because it’s Halloween. I always make a double batch. 

  • 4 cups boiling water
  • 2 pkg.  (8-serving size) JELL-O Lime Flavor Gelatin  I like to use pineapple or pina colada flavored Jell-o.
  • 4 cups cold orange juice
  • 1 bottle  (2 liter) seltzer, chilled I use sprite.
  • 2 pt.  (4 cups) orange sherbet, slightly softened I use pineapple sherbet.
  • 1 orange, thinly sliced
  • 1   lime, thinly sliced
  • Because I use pineapple instead of lime, I add a few drops of green food coloring for that swampy look. 

How to Make It

  • STIR boiling water into dry gelatin in large bowl at least 2 minutes until completely dissolved. Stir in juice.
  • I add the sherbet to the punch bowl and pour the warm juice/Jell-o mixture over the sherbet.
  • POUR into punch bowl just before serving. Add seltzer and ice; stir.
  • ADD scoops of sherbet and fruit slices.
And now for something totally adult and lovely!

Sing me a song, Sangria….

This recipe is my stepmother’s recipe.  It has served her well at many a party!  The first time I made this for a party, it was a smashing success.   It has been a requested party libation ever since.

Two pitchers of sangria

Image via Wikipedia

I’ll be making my Sangria later today.  I’m putting it into mason jars, so it won’t be confused with the kid friendly punch.

The Ingredient List:

  • 2 liter bottle of Burgundy
  • 1 large can of orange juice concentrate/ or 4-5 cups of fresh orange juice
  • 1 small can of frozen lemonade concentrate
  • 1 small can of frozen limeade concentrate
  • 2 limes, sliced thinly.
  • 2 lemons, sliced thinly.
  • 2 mandarin oranges, sliced thinly.

        What to do:

  • Mix orange juice with water, per the can’s instructions.
  • Combine orange juice with the other ingredients.
  • Chill for at least 2-3 hours,  I usually chill mine overnight.
  • Place into a punch bowl, or mason jars.
  • Add sliced fruit.
  • Serve.

9 Comments

  1. I have never heard of using jell-o to make punch before – very interesting.
    Enjoy your Halloween and have a great weekend.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Both of these look great to me. OK, you know I’m thinking of making the first one for adults, ha!

  3. Sounds like a fun party is on its way! Sangria is great for parties!

  4. I´m so excited for you – the great food, the great drinks. Looking forward to seeing the photos!

  5. Love the bat glasses!

  6. You know I love the color of that punch 😀 Anything bright green is good in my book.

  7. Sangria for me!! YUM… c

  8. Not sure about the kiddie punch, but that sangria sounds like it would do the trick. Thanks for sharing.

    • Whoops, hope that doesn’t sound like an insult to your punch, I’m sure its good, I would just make the sangria. Not a lot of kids in my circle.

Share your thoughts!

