Making a Fun Fall Cake

I’ve got a boxed cake mix, and I’m not afraid to use it.

I had this idea, while eating a handful of candy corn, that I should make a cake that resembles a candy corn. Am I the only one who loves candy corn? Seriously, it’s pretty close to addictive. Or, maybe that’s just me. Or candy corn is evil, that’s possible right? Evil little kernels of sugar… compelling me to eat them and make cakes in their image.

Just say it’s possible, it’ll make me feel better…….

I had a box of cake mix, yes I use boxed cake mix from time to time. Let’s just say, if the sale price is good…I consider buying it. It’s great for a quick cake from time to time.

Here’s what I did.

Make the cake mix as directed, or make your own cake batter. Using a bunt pan, place 1 cup of the cake batter in the bottom of the pan.

Remove 2 cups of cake batter and add 5 drops of yellow food coloring to make your yellow batter.

Add 5 drops of yellow food coloring and 2 drops of red food coloring to the remaining batter to make orange.

Place the orange colored batter on top of the non-colored batter.

Place the yellow batter on top of the orange batter.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 40 min.

Cool, then add icing. Cut before you take a picture, you know because you want the cake more than you want a good picture.

Enjoy your candy corn-ish cake. The colors are so bright I had a hard time with the pictures, but the yellow and orange really POP!

What fun fall baking things do you do?

If you haven’t already, check out my Yoplait Smoothie giveaway!

25 Comments

  1. How fun! and let’s all be honest here, there are times a cake mix comes in quick and handy!!

  2. Wow, bet the kids love that! c

  3. Very cool!

  4. Wow, beautiful, sure this will be kids favourite too. Thanks Jami

    • Thanks, the kids are really enjoying it!

  5. That is fun! Yum!

    • Thanks! We’re enjoying it

  6. I love this idea! I’ve wanted to make rainbow cupcakes forever, but the candy corn idea for fall is too cute! Wish I had an event to go to that required a cake…And yeah, boxed mixes are just plain old nice sometimes.

    • Allie, heh! cakes don’t need special occasions. πŸ˜€

      • Thing is, I like making cakes more than eating them, so I need a reason to share! Although you’re right–I could just whip this up for no real reason and just bring it in to the office.

      • Your co-workers would love that!

  7. Cake inspiration from a hanful of candy corn – love it!

    • Thanks! πŸ˜€ My kids are LOVING it!

  8. those colours are really like an autumn day πŸ™‚

  9. Very adventurous of you!

    • πŸ™‚ I do like to try new things!

  10. So pretty – what a fun cake!

  11. Great Idea! And it’s perfect for the season.

    • Thanks! It was fun to make!

  12. Thanks so much for adding this to my Mommy Club Link up! You rock! I cannot wait to see what other cool things you come up with!

Share your thoughts!

