What can you do? Double sick weekend.

Sometimes when it rains, it pours. 

Sometimes an upper respiratory plague descends upon a household. 

I ended up with 2 kids at the doctor yesterday. 

One child with a sinus infection (the teen) and the other child with an upper respiratory infection (the tween). 

Which means twice the coughing and twice the grumpy kid issues to deal with.  😦  Hours spent at the doctor and the pharmacy and a lot of $ spent. 

All I really care about is getting my kids well again.  

I’m making slow cooker apple sauce today, it cooked on low all night long.  This morning it is bubbling away with-out the lid on it.  I am thickening it up.  I don’t have a recipe for you today.    I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

If you’re local to me, DFW-Texas….and are headed to the Texas State Fair, I hope you have a great trip. 

If you do head to the fair, be safe, have fun and stop by the AT&T booth near the Colosseum.  As the official wireless sponsor of the fair, AT&T has many COWs (cell towers on wheels) to enhance the network and the mobile experience of fair-goers.  We found the AT&T booth to be fun and informative.  We also were given cute little pull-string backpacks that sure came in handy for storing all the pamphlets and papers we collected during our day.

Allie and I will have another canning link-up on Monday.  I can’t tell you what I am making yet.  I’m not sure what my weekend will hold.

My Swanson Health Products giveaway will be closing on Monday evening (9pm central time zone), if you have not entered it yet…please do!

I’ll see you on Monday! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

21 Comments

  1. Hope they feel better soon!

  2. Awww, I hope the kids feel better this weekend! Being sick during the school week=no fun, but hey, no school. Sick on a weekend?? Booo. Applesauce sounds like a good solution though. Found this recipe: http://pursuitofhippieness.com/2011/10/04/slow-cooked-apples-part-two-apple-butter/ that is awesome enough to produce both cider and butter, I’m going to try it out, but thought of you too when I saw it, as it seems tasty, practical and frugal. Yep yep.

    • 🙂 Thanks Allie! I’ll check it out. I doubt I’ll have any apple sauce left by the end of the day. My kids are gobbling it up.

  3. I hope everyone feels better soon!

  4. So sorry your kids are sick
    I hope they feel better soon

    • Thank you very much. I hope they feel better too. It’s rough having sick little ones.

  5. So sorry to hear about your sick kids, that’s never fun. Hope they feel better soon! That apple sauce sounds like it’s going to be fabulous. I didn’t realize you’re in Texas…if you like country music, you should check out Jason Cassidy (shameless pr, I know), but he’s awesome and has a bunch of upcoming shows in TX. 🙂

    • Thanks Caroline! I’ll check out Jason Cassidy (I never mind shameless pr) 😉

  6. Kat

    So sorry about the kids — my toddler has apparently come down with the gunk, too.

    If you do venture out that way and need something not-fried, the Blackeyed Pea Soup offered at the Bailey’s location in the Coca-Cola Food Court at the Fair is really good and filling. I got it in the primer I wrote up on my site.

    http://www.tiedyetravels.com/2011/10/texas-state-fair-food-primer.html

    • Thanks Kat! I’m sorry your toddler is feeling yucky! Your food post is amazing!

  7. I hope they feel better, and I hope you come out of it unscathed!

    • Thank you. I worry about getting sick. No body wants a sick Mom.

  8. Warm apple sauce will be lovely on sore little throats.. good thinking, ..c

    • Thanks C! They seem to be enjoying the apple sauce. I made homemade chicken noodle soup for dinner. Lots of lovely veggies.

  9. shame man, two sick kids! Hope you don’t get it. Have a peaceful weekend if possible 🙂

  10. Oh dear, so sorry to hear that! Hot lemon and honey is always good (and a shot of whisky or brandy for the grown ups if they are affected too)!

    • Ha! Hopefully I won’t need the whiskey. 😀

Share your thoughts!

