The State Fair of Texas…Fried Food and other fun!

Don’t forget to check out my Swanson Health Products Giveaway!  It is open until 10/10/11.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The State Fair of Texas is one of the largest State Fairs in the United States.  Living in the Dallas area, it’s a big deal.  Our kids get a day off and a free ticket each year.  My husband and I have not been to the fair in a few years.  Last year our kids went with their grandparents. We decided to make a day of it this year, my husband took the day off from work.

We arrived at about 10:30 am. We played, we ate, we stayed till almost 6 pm.  😀

The plan.. see the Auto show, eat fried things, see the neat and over-priced items the vendors are selling, ride the rides, see a show or two. Have a great day of family fun.

If you do head to the fair, be safe, have fun and stop by the AT&T booth near the Colosseum.  As the official wireless sponsor of the fair, AT&T has many COWs (cell towers on wheels) to enhance the network and the mobile experience of fair-goers.  We found the AT&T booth to be fun and informative.  We also were given cute little pull-string backpacks that sure came in handy for storing all the pamphlets and papers we collected during our day.

We had a lovely time at the fair. We tried many fried things.
We never found fried kool-ade. 😦 which made my daughter a very sad panda.

Here’s some pictures of a few of the fried items we tried.
*each item was split 4 ways* 😉

Fried Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

This was a number 1 pick for the parents.  Batter dipped pineapple slice with whip cream and a cherry on top.

The true #1 parent pick, but it was not fried.
Fried Cookie Dough, Kids liked it, parents…not so much

Fried Cookie Dough, what can I say….It just tasted doughy.

Fried Pizza. It tasted like a large mozzarella stick.

Fried Pizza. It was interesting.  It did not taste like pizza though.

Fried Salsa, served with a side of queso…you know cuz it needed cheese.

Fried salsa.  Interesting.

Potato Ball… Yummy

Fried Potato Ball.  I really liked this one!  Meat (seasoned), rolled in mashed potatoes, rolled in breading, deep fried.

No…Not a fan.

Fried Bananas….No one liked this one.

There were too few of these. The kids gobbled them up.

Funnel Cake fries.  🙂 Always a winner.

Other things we did.

         

Henna Tattoos.  A panda for the tween and a skull with a bow for me.

      

Pictures of Big Tex.

    

The Auto Show.

A teen with and big, fast car dream (not gonna happen) ….&…. a fun rear view mirror picture of my tween and me.

The Tween got her hair done. And a feather clip on.

Feathers, all the rage in your hair.  There are clip on feathers and ones that are more permanently added into your hair.

Canning Jars, oodles of them…. full of fun homemade goodness.

      

The Killdares Celitc. Rock.  Yes, that guy has a bagpipe.  😀

We had a wonderful time at the fair, returned to our car and found a flat tire.  D’oh!

Grabbed some Pei Wei on the way home, ate a lovely dinner.  Turned on our TV and it was broken, all double-vision-ey.  Double D’oh!

Anyho, that’s why today’s post is a tad late.  I had to buy a new TV this morning.

iPhone Photo Phun

15 Comments

  1. Looks like a fun day out for you all! I know fried food is not sooo good for us, btu every so often eh? I quite fancy the fried salsa with cheese…yum! What a pain (and expense) about the tv…shame about that.

    • Thanks Tanya! I’m not happy about the TV, but we’ve had it for about 8 years…so I guess it’s a decent run for a projection TV.

  2. Fried things AND an excuse for a new TV? Well hey, doesn’t sound so bad 😀 I’m intrigued by fried salsa, that one sounds pretty darn good to me. I usually love fried bananas, sorry those were a disappointment. Soo, minus the flat tire, sounds like an awesome family outing! Nothing like a good fair.

    • It was a great day. The flat tire and the TV aside. The tire is budgeted for, we have a auto maintenance fund. The TV had to be replaced. I’m afraid I am a but of a TV-aholic. No living room TV makes for a grumpy mommy.

      • Having an auto budget makes sense! Wish I’d had one of those saved up for my most recent car troubles. Oh, well. And I’d get grumpy without some TV, too–I like taking mind-breaks, they are definitely needed sometimes.

  3. OK, my stomach hurts just looking at all that fried stuff. Now that is what a hot dog is supposed to look like! When did they go and get all fancy?

    • Yep. A lot of fried stuff. Spaced over a 6 hour period and split into 4 servings. 🙂
      The giant sausage dog was awesome. Best food of the day.

      • Ha, I didn’t mean to imply it was all for one person. I don’t judge! Wait, you didn’t eat fried raisins did you?

      • Blah. Fried raisins would not appeal to me.

  4. The potato ball, i want that one! c

  5. So much fun and some serious yum! 🙂

  6. Making me think about going to the state fair. I haven’t been in so long. The thoughts of it now is bringing sounds, feelings and smells to my memory…But, NONE of them smell like those things…lol…I’m smelling the Funnel Cakes, Italian Sausage, Green Peppers, Onions and Steak, Cotton Candy, Candy Apples….Fried salsa?…Not so much…to each their own though.
    Bless You
    paul

  7. glad you enjoyed the fair – I would not have done well with all the fried food though! Have a super day today 🙂

  8. I will take one of everything to go please! What a fun time you had.
    🙂 Mandy

  9. Oh my…fried pizza. Sounds gooey delicious!

Share your thoughts!

