Meatless Monday….3 bean soup.

I hope you had a wonderful weekend!   We’ve had a wonderful weekend here in central Texas.  🙂  The Texas State Fair opened on Friday, we’re planning to visit the fair tomorrow (Tuesday).  My children have Monday and Tuesday off this week, for the fair and a teacher in-service (6 weeks grade entering day).

On Sunday (yesterday) I decided to make 3 bean soup for Monday dinner.  🙂  I’ve got a repair man coming to fix my drippy ice maker today, so it’s won’t be a good day for cooking.

I’ve said it before, but it bares repeating…. I am not great at meal planning.  I usually have some sort of loose plan in my mind of meals to make, but I rarely plan more than 1 or 2 days in advance.  Horrible?  Yes.

Sunday morning  I decided to make bean soup, but I had not soaked my beans overnight.  OOPS!  I decided to throw caution to the wind and make soup without pre-soaking my beans.  Crazy right?

Fo Shizzle….that’s how I roll.

Monday’s meatless soup can become a meaty soup on Tuesday night, since I am going to be tired after my day at the fair.  Hopefully I will not gorge myself on fried Kool-aid, fried bubblegum and fried beer.  😀

This soup is wonderfully flavorful and so worth the extended time it took to cook it.  11:00 am to 4:00 pm cooking time.

*you could make this soup in the slow cooker, place everything into the slow cooker and cook on high for 6-8 hours, low for 8-10(+) hours*

Ingredient list:

  • 4 cups of dried (mixed) beans.  I used a mixture of Organic Navy Beans, Organic Great Northern Beans and Organic Cranberry beans.
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 green and 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 6 cups of veggie stock
  • 2 cups of water (plus more if needed) I ended up with 4 cups of water in my soup.
  • 2 tablespoons of minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic salt
  • 1 package of sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley

What to do….

Place 2 tablespoons of olive oil into a cast iron pot.  Saute the onion, garlic, and peppers until soft.

Add beans, spices, stock, tomatoes and water to the pot.

Bring the mixture to a boil.

Reduce heat and simmer low and slow (stirring every so often) for about 4 hours.

If you need to, add more water or stock to the pot.  I ended up adding about 2 cups of water during the cooking time.

*You could totally cook this a lot quicker if you pre-soaked the beans*

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

I’m making a whole wheat cornbread to enjoy with the soup.  🙂

Are you meatless this Monday?  What are you making?

11 Comments

  1. Hope you have fun at the fair! Ours is soon, too.

    Though, we went to the seafood festival this weekend- that might take the place of the fair this year for us.

    • Seafood Festival…FUN!

      Thanks! We are very excited about the fair!

  2. We love soups like this and make them a lot – that´s one of the good things about the autumn! Didn´t realise it would work without pre soaking, so well done you for giving it a go! Enjoy your time at the fair and not too much fried stuff 🙂

    • I was not sure it would work either. I figured one way or another, I had a post and hopefully a dinner. 🙂

  3. I sure am meatless today 😀 Oh wait, that’s me on every day, haha. I have about 30 minutes between work and my pottery class this evening, so I’ll be scarfing down a quick meal of reheated squash and quinoa casserole from last night.

    And I clearly do not live far enough south, because while Tennessee fairs have fried oreos and fried butter, I have yet to come across fried bubblegum…

    • Clearly. Ha! I’ll take pictures at the fair. 🙂 fried bubblegum is new this year. 🙂

  4. Now that it’s 88 down there it’s soup weather!

    • Word. I know it’s wintery here @ 88 degrees. 😉

  5. Ha! Nice Snoop Dogg shoutout!

  6. fried bubblegum? Do tell me more 🙂

  7. wow, where have I been, I must have followed a link back here to an older post and thought it was the latest…I am behind thinking I was on the home page, anyway, yes, like all of my Vegetarian meals, I only add one ingredient to Meatless Monday Meals to make them taste good to me…MEAT!!!

Share your thoughts!

