Whole Wheat Apple Crisp

If you have not already, please take a moment and leave a comment on my Giveaway Post! You could win free stuff. Free is good right? Right! **. I’ll wait here…go! The giveaway ends on 9/22/11 at 9:00 pm central.

I had planned to try making the Cheddar and Chilies Cornbread Scones, but I’ve got a sick little girl (okay….she’s 12, but she’s still my little girl!) I took her to the doctor today, yucky sinus infection. Poor baby. It is so awful to have a sick child. As a parent, I want to protect my children, as a mom…I’m the fixer. I can not fix an infection, I can not fix the headache that has been tormenting her. I can only keep her as comfortable and hydrated as possible, give her the medication the doctor prescribed and make her apple crisp. 😀

My daughter loves apples, especially the Apple Pie Filling I canned about a week ago. I adapted the Betty Crocker Caramel-Butterscotch Apple Crisp .

Here is my ingredient list.

  • 2 pint jars of Apple Pie Filling
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Gold Medal® white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup cold butter or margarine, cut into 6 pieces

You can find the recipe here.

As the apple crisp was baking, my house filled with wonderful, fall-ish smells. I simply adore fall smells.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

22 Comments

  1. hope your daughter gets better soon!

  2. Delicious – like an English apple crumble but with lovely pumpkin pie spices? Wishing your “little one” a speedy recovery.

    • Thank you Tanya! 🙂

  3. If I were sick, I’d want this. OK, I want it healthy too. Hope she feels better soon.

  4. What a tasty and quick dessert! Yum!

    • It is, your cookies look yummy too!

  5. If I get sick, will you mail some of this to me? Yum yum! I always miss living at home the most when I’m sick–there’s no mom to bring me soup, drinks and treats. Where’s the fun in dragging yourself out of bed to get food? And opening soup cans is darn complicated when you don’t feel good.

    Hope your daughter feels better soon!

    • 🙂 Allie, if you lived closer I’d take care of you if you were sick. 🙂 I bet your Mom takes pretty good care of you if you’re under the weather huh?

  6. My girls are 27 & 25, but they’re still my babies 🙂 Hope your little girl is feeling better soon.

    I feel like eating an apple crumble now…

  7. Apple crisp just warms me up inside. Your recipe sounds fabulous. I hope your daughter feels better soon!

  8. I love apple crisp! So glad it is apple season so I can make it again! Hope your daughter feels better soon!

  9. Your crisp looks so tasty. I can’t imagine how much better it was from the use of homemade apple filling.

  10. She’ll always be your little girl! 🙂 And, what a lucky little girl to get some of this! MMmm!

    I hope she feels better soon! 😦 Take care!

    • Thank you! I am happy to report that she is on the mend. 🙂

  11. Liz

    it’s funny because i am not a “pie” person at all and really only like graham cracker crusts, but warm apple crisp is to DIE for!

    • Liz, It is very tasty!

Share your thoughts!

