White Whole Wheat Banana bread, a review and a Giveaway!

When Blog Search offered me the opportunity to try Gold Medal White Whole Wheat flour…

My answer was “Oh, Yes Please!”

If you read my blog regularly you know that I’ve been experimenting with using whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. If you’re new to my blog,  I’ve had some successes, like my Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake. I’ve also been trying to perfect my Overnight Oatmeal bread with whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour.

I received a package from My Blog Spark this week, squee! it included a coupon for a free bag of Gold Medal White Whole Wheat flour (I used my freebie coupon at Walmart), recipe cards, and a beautiful, blue flour canister (which was made in the U.S.A.). I thought that was pretty neat!

These items were gifted to me through My Blog Spark so I could try the product and tell you, my lovely readers, what I think about Gold Medal White Whole Wheat flour.

I love this flour!  It is made with hard white spring wheat, instead of hard red spring wheat like most whole wheat flours.

The white spring wheat has a taste and texture similar to all-purpose white flour.

I have found that it is very easy to increase my use of whole wheat white flour by replacing 25 to 50 percent of the recipe’s flour content with whole wheat flour. In some recipes I have simply used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.

When using whole wheat flour, I increase the liquid (usually I add yogurt) to keep the batter nice and moist. You could also convert your all-purpose flour recipe by decreasing the flour by a few tablespoons per cup of flour used.

I made White Whole Wheat Banana Bread. I made a double batch (as usual) and I used the white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. I also added 1 cup of greek vanilla yogurt.

I made 1 large loaf and 1 bunt style loaf. The bread is flavorful, moist, and it tastes awesome! Half of the bunt loaf is already gone. The taste is very similar to the all-purpose flour flavor and I feel better about serving the whole wheat version to my family.

Here is what you need to make a single batch.

  • 1/2 cup of butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of sugar (you can use 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar if you want to)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 or 4 mashed RIPE (trust me on this, the riper the better) bananas
  • 1 TBSP of milk
  • 1/2 cup of yogurt
  • 2 cups of Gold Medal White Whole Wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of nuts (optional)

You’ll find the rest of my No Fail Banana bread recipe here…Banana Bread

Now for the Giveaway!

One lucky ducky will win a gift pack just like the one I received.   The giveaway is open to USA residents, ages 18 and up. Winner will be selected using  Random.org .

Disclosure: The product,  information and giveaway is being provided by Betty Crocker  through MyBlogSpark.

In order to enter, just leave me a comment telling me what recipe you’d like to convert to white whole wheat flour. It’s that simple. Easy Peasy right?

9/18/11

**And now for a neat surprise.  Go to the Betty Crocker website.  Look through the recipes listed here.  These recipes all use White whole wheat flour.  Pick one recipe from this website that you would like to try using the white whole wheat flour. Return to the giveaway and leave a comment telling me which recipe from the Betty Crocker website you would like to try.    Doing this will give you a 2nd entry in the giveaway.  🙂

Please mark that entry as Entry #2  **

Here are a few lovely links…..

This giveaway will be open until 9/22/11 at 9 pm central time zone. Then I will use random.org to choose a winner.

41 Comments

  1. I’d like to try it with a cookie recipe or cobbler… Yum!

  2. Mariajose

    My oven is currently not working and I’m so excited to finally be getting one this weekend! I haven’t baked anything in months! I actually bought a banana nut muffin mix to do at my boyfriends house today before getting the new oven.

    Great giveaway! Thanks for the chance to win.
    I also have a giveaway going on right now, take a look: https://abitofeverythingnow.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/how-to-make-25-without-going-to-work/

  3. Thank you so much for including a recipe for a single serving. This way, I’m not having to resist the leftovers before I can bring them to work the next day!

  4. Ohhh I have been meaning to try some sort of wheat flour. I’d LOVE to convert peanut butter cookies! At least then I could say something is healthy about them! ha! 🙂

    Thank you so much for the chance… I will absolutely be trying that banana bread.

    Lisagoneaussie (at) gmail.com

  5. I have an awesome recipe for Zuchinni bread that I would love to convert over with white whole wheat flour! Love your recipe and your site!! 🙂

  6. how awesome, a healthy alternative with all the nice goodies to go with it 🙂 Have a super weekend!

  7. Well free flour, who can argue with that? And I replace almost all white flour in recipes, unless I’m making something fancy like cake. I used only white in last batch of biscuits I made ’cause I wanted them to be light and fluffy–that would have been a great place to sub in some white ww flour.

  8. I’d like to try this on a pie crust. May be easier to hold together, not sure. Your banana bread looks great.

  9. Julie L

    my mom’s snickerdoodle recipes thanks 🙂

  10. I still need to bake with whole wheat flour! Since I bake cupcakes so often, I’d like to try using it in cupcakes or muffins.

  11. Francheska

    I would like to try it breading items like chicken fried steak and use it to make homemade gravy!!!! 🙂

  12. I’d like to convert all of my fall breads, pumpkin, zucchini, etc. Thanks for the recipe too!

  13. Jen

    I would like to try to convert my pound cake to whole wheat, along with using it for breading, gravies, white sauces.

  14. Pinned it! Can’t wait to try it myself. 🙂

  15. I have been wanting to try whole wheat flour to try and eliminate yet another thing from our diet! This looks great!

  16. Shelley

    Your banana bread look yummy! My kids would love that! I would love to convert any of my Christmas cookies, or my Eggnog Pound Cake!

  17. Cookies…Any cookies. We usually do sugar cut-outs at Halloween and Thanksgiving. (As well as Christmas, of course.) That would be fun to try.

  18. Your banana bread looks very yummy, Thanks Jamie, I would like to try it with oatmeal raisen cookie.

  19. Luvdaylilies

    I’d love to try this in my Pumpkin Bars, Thanks !

  20. ummm….pizza crust!? yes, pizza crust!

    and I’ll be back with my Betty Crocker recipe pick as well!

    oh and your banana bread is making me hungry right now…i never thought to use yogurt…i made it once with heavy whipping cream, the recipe called for it and I was like, “What the…?” but it turned out very nice! I think yogurt would be far healthier though, LOL! plus the whole wheat flour makes it that much healthier : )

  21. wow! that was a lot of recipes to look through…I made it up to page 85 and had to stop there, lol!

    In the spirit of autumn starting my Betty Crocker recipe pick would be:

    Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

    mmmm……

  22. Karon

    Wow!! Your banana bread looks fabulous. I may have to make some of that today too.
    I would love to try converting a waffle recipe. My family loves them ever since I got a big speedy waffle iron.

  23. Karon

    I checked out the Betty Crocker site and whoa!, that’s a lot of great recipes. I’d like to make Outrgeous White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies. It’s such a great idea to make cookies a little healthier.
    Thanks for sharing your tips and ideas!

  24. Entry #2: Okay, would definitely love veganize the buttermilk biscuit recipe, ’cause we know I love my biscuits 😀 Or that apple crisp…or pumpkin bars. Holy cow, that site has amazing-looking fall treats, yeah, definitely gotta add some of those to my to-make list. Cornbread scones??? I’m in.

    • I’m going to make the cornbread scone recipe tonight. I might not make it in scone form though. 😀

  25. I’m glad I found this Betty Crocker Site as I’ve been switching to the white whole wheat flour alot lately. Mostly in breads and cookies, but now I’d like to try the cupcakes, i.e., lighter texture baking and see how it works out!!

  26. Donna C

    I’d like to try making cinnamon rolls using white whole wheat flour. I don’t think I’ve ever tried white whole wheat. I’m very interested if it tastes differently than regular whole wheat.

  27. Rachel Priest

    I would love to win. I would try Double-Chocolate Lava Cake (White Whole Wheat Flour).

  28. Ooh, I have cinnamon pumpkin yeast bread I’d love to try to make healthier! Thanks for the chance to win!

  29. Entry 2: Mmmm, how about Betty Crocker’s Cinnamon Rolls!

  30. Jodie Ramer

    I would love to try the Lightened Up Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

  31. Jodie Ramer

    Would love to try the pizza crust
    This is entry #2

  32. Denise L

    I have a yummy focaccia recipe that I’d love to do as whole wheat.

  33. Denise L

    The trail mix cookies look delish! – Entry #2

  34. The caramel pecan bars sound amazing!
    shannonw at peacelovepoop.com

  35. Comments closed for giveaway! Thank you to all who entered.

Trackbacks

  1. White Wheat Oat Quick Bread « A Dash of Domestic
  2. Whole Wheat Apple Crisp « A Dash of Domestic
  3. it’s not junk… « A Dash of Domestic
  4. Garden Gab…the end is near. « A Dash of Domestic
  5. Roasted Turkey Legs with Vegetable Rice | Good Cooks

Share your thoughts!

