Canning Apple Pie filling

Who’s ready to do some canning?

This week I have made canned apple pie filling.  Apple pie filling has many uses.  Apple pie, obviously.  Apple tarts.  A topping for pancakes or yogurt.  I made turn-overs.  They were not my prettiest work, but they were tasty!

  

  

Apple pie filling is fairly easy to make.  I like mine full of wonderful spices.   Here’s my step by step guide to apple pie filling.  Please make sure that you check out Allie’s post.

One word? Yum!

Ingredients….

  • 1 & 1/2  cups of brown sugar
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 5 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon of orange zest
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 sachet bag full of mulling spices

     

  • 3 pounds apples; washed, cored and sliced

The Directions….

  • In a large pan, mix sugars, cornstarch, cinnamon and nutmeg.

  • Add salt and water and mix well.

     

  • Add the sachet.

  • Bring to a boil and cook until thick and bubbly.

  • Remove from heat and add lemon juice.
  • Sterilize canning jars, by boiling them in a large pot of water.

  • Ladle hot water over the lids to warm them.

  • Core and slice apples. You can also peel them if you want to.
  • Pack the sliced apples into hot canning jars, leaving a 1/2 inch of head-space.

  • Fill jars with hot syrup, and gently remove air bubbles with a chop stick or knife.

  • Wipe the rims of the jars.
  • Put lids on and process in a water bath canner for 20 minutes.

  • Let the jars set in the water for 5 minutes before removing.
  • Allow the jars to rest on the counter top overnight.

  • Check seals, label and store in a cool dry place for up to 1 year.Now it’s your turn!  Show us what you have canned!  Link up your canning post or leave your recipe in the comments!



33 Comments

  1. This ON PANCAKES? Sounds like the best fall and winter food EVER. Ohh, or in oatmeal! Definitely warranting all my out of control capitalization 😀 I’ll have to keep an eye out at the local apple place, they sometimes have buckets of sub-prime apples for cheap–would be perfect for canning! Stiiill gotta get me some pumpkin pie spice. Especially since I’m taking home buckets of sweet potatoes and butternut squash–those simply baked and topped with a smidge of brown sugar and lots of spice? Mmm. Okay, I hate cold weather, but I’m ready for cold weather food 🙂

    • Yum Allie! I put some in my oatmeal this morning.

      • Ohh, now I’m jealous! I had blueberries and sunflower seed butter in mine today–decent, but definitely no apple pie oatmeal!

      • It was pretty tasty! 😀 Blueberries sound good too though!

  2. Wow, this looks amazing! You’re so smart to do this stuff too.

  3. Such a great idea, looks delicious! That sauce looks aaaamzing.

    • It tastes amazing. I made 7 jars, we’ve already used 2 jars. 😀

  4. Oh this post has me so so so ready for apple season! I really need to get on canning; thanks for all the tips.

    • I just LOVE Fall, don’t you?

  5. Karen L.

    You can pretty much make your own pumpkin pie spice. Look on the back of a Libby’s canned Pumpkin for proportions.
    1tsp. ground Cinnamon
    1/2 tsp. ground Ginger
    1/4 tsp. ground cloves
    I’ll sometimes add a bit of allspice or nutmeg too.
    I used to purchase all my spices in the little McCormick cans or the jarred spices. Now I save those when they are empty & refill them at Whole Foods or EarthFare or some such place where I can purchase in bulk. I find it is incredibly cheaper to do it that way. And the spices are typically fresher as well.
    As for nutmeg in general, I’ve taken to grating my own. The flavor is so much better when it’s freshly grated.

    I love this idea. I just have to figure out how to get apples which haven’t been sprayed. Maybe I can pick up a few cases when I head up to the mountains the end of October.

    I’ve been putting up all kinds of preserves this summer, Strawberry (six cases, which amazingly are half gone, maybe more than half gone), Blueberry, Peach, Spiced Tomato. I also made Spiced Peaches. I looked all over the internet, and in approx. 5 books I purchased about canning (some I had bought last year). I finally found it in Ball’s “The Complete Book of Pickling. I also made pickled Beets. I hope to make more of both of those. And I just made Hot Pepper Jelly last week. Whew. That was like working in a pepper spray factory! All that peppery steam!

    My next goal is to can tomatoes, lots of tomatoes! AND to make Sweet Pepper Relish. Which is amazing on everything you could possibly think to eat it on. I swear you could probably eat it on ice cream & it’d be good!

    I look forward to trying your two jalapeno recipes. Though the results will likely be for my friends who grow the jalapenos. Neither my roomie nor I are huge fans of jalapenos.

    • That’s great Karen! I made spiced, pickled beets. They’re yummy! 🙂 The jalapeno relish is lightly spiced, the fewer seed you leave in the less spicy it is.

  6. Karen L.

    ps. If anyone wants recipes, let me know. I’ll gladly share what I have…. The Spiced Tomato was really excellent. A friend tells me, “It tastes like apple pie”. The Sweet Pepper Relish recipe was given to my best friend by another friend of ours. The friend who gave us that recipe lost it. However my best friend still had a copy. I had one too, but don’t know where it went in the last move. Anyway, I’ve restored a copy to the originator, via e-mail. The other recipes (jams) are Sure-Jell recipes, and the pickled beets & spiced peaches are gleaned from one of the many books I have acquired this year & last.

    This is my first year to attempt so many things. I’ve also put-up some veggies in the freezer. Next year I hope to have acquired a pressure canner. Then I can go about learning to can veggies & other non-acid foods.
    I’m having a great time of it all…. between this & learning to bake bread! What fun it is!

    • I would love the sweet pepper relish recipe!

  7. lovely! I am getting my post written up asap 🙂

  8. http://akgphoto.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/foodie-friday-attack-of-the-fruit/

    There is the post with my attempt at canning 50lbs of peaches. I have also made apple butter already and plan to make more, and I love this apple pie filling idea. I want to freeze whole pies but this would be a nice idea too.

    I have acquired some quilted 1/2 pint jars which will be much more size appropriate for gifts so I now need to get apples to put them to use. 🙂

    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration

    • Wow 50 pounds of peaches!

  9. Jamie,
    I love how you detailed the canning process as I’ve not ventured into that area yet but I’m thinking I really might now as the idea of canning apples for pie!! Wow, fantastic idea!! I’m bookmarking this to try asap!!

    • Thank you! I hope that it is helpful for anyone who has not canned before.

  10. That looks awesome! I haven’t tried canning yet but it is on my list for next year. I will definitely be bookmarking this recipe for that time 🙂

    • It’s pretty easy to do once you break it down into little steps. 🙂

  11. Yum – look sand sounds very autumnal. We don´t have very nice apples in Andalucia but we are in the north right now where they are delicious – will have to buy some to take home with us!

    • I hope you find some apples, this is very tasty!

  12. I really want to try canning sometime but I’ve been too intimidated. It doesn’t look too difficult though here!

    • It’s not that hard Rach. 🙂 I have a few step by step recipes on my blog. 😀

  13. Oh, goodie! Just what I was looking for!
    The apples do well using the raw-pack method? I’m starting to work through my bushel tomorrow…

    • Yes! The canning process softens them some, but I’ve had wonderful results!

  14. Wow….perfect.

Trackbacks

  1. Together We Can «
  2. Whole Wheat Apple Crisp « A Dash of Domestic
  3. Caramelized Onion Relish « A Dash of Domestic
  4. Yes, we can, can, can….Brandied Cherries « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

