Grace… Thought provoking Thursday

How do you define grace?

My week has been a crazy one so far.  I’ve had two days of sick kiddos (both kiddos), and the heat has been horribly relentless We’ve had 65 or 66 days over 100 degrees F so far this year.  It’s craziness. Hot, sweaty craziness.

This photo has nothing to do with grace, but my husband took this photo and I think it is beautiful.

Grace has many meanings….

 
As defined by merriam-webster.com
 
 
Main Entry: 1grace
Pronunciation: \ˈgrās\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English, from Anglo-French, from Latin gratia favor, charm, thanks, from gratus pleasing, grateful; akin to Sanskrit gṛṇāti he praises
Date: 12th century

1 a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification

b : a virtue coming from God

c : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace

2 a : approval, favor <stayed in his good graces>

b archaic : mercy, pardon

c : a special favor : privilege <each in his place, by right, not grace, shall rule his heritage — Rudyard Kipling>

d : disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemency

e : a temporary exemption : reprieve

3 a : a charming or attractive trait or characteristic

b : a pleasing appearance or effect : charm <all the grace of youth — John Buchan>

c : ease and suppleness of movement or bearing

4 —used as a title of address or reference for a duke, a duchess, or an archbishop
5 : a short prayer at a meal asking a blessing or giving thanks
6 plural capitalized : three sister goddesses in Greek mythology who are the givers of charm and beauty
7 : a musical trill, turn, or appoggiatura
8 a : sense of propriety or right <had the grace not to run for elective office — Calvin Trillin>

b : the quality or state of being considerate or thoughtful

synonyms see mercy
I don’t have a ton to say today.

I simply want you to think about grace.

God’s wondrous grace.
The grace involved with a kind deed or a kind word.
The gracefulness of a dancer.

I placed them in an intentional order.

I am always thankful for God’s grace and love.
I try my best each day to act in a graceful way. My RAOK are my attempts to be graceful.  Sometimes I am successful, other times…not so much.
I am rarely full of graceful movements, like those of a dancer…but that’s okay by me…
I bruise myself a lot, I run into things, I have a serious lack of grace, I’ve been banned, by my husband, from climbing up ladders….I’ve been known to have issues with ladders.
Perhaps being clumsy is its own kind of quirky grace (maybe) but I’m doubtful.

Two out of three ain’t bad…..

How do you find grace in your daily life?

 



14 Comments

  1. grace is there everyday in giving gratitude for what I have. Hope the kidlets get bet soon 🙂

  2. I am certainly not gracious of movement but I try my best in the way I treat those around me…with the same kindness and respect I would hope to receive in return. This made me think of my godmother, one of her names was Grazia – she was graceful inside and out…a lovely lady.

    • Tanya, I am so klutzy! 🙂 Your godmother sounds like a great lady.

  3. Hope the kiddos are better. It’s amazing when you can tell the difference between 102 and 96. Hope the heat breaks for you soon. I need to look up how many consecutive days we were over 100.

    • I know right, Greg. 96 seems so cool. Ha! Thank you, the kiddos are feeling much better!

  4. I’d like to think I’m disposed towards kindness (although I could act more graceful in that way, I know. An area for improvement, but what’s life without improvement?). I am certainly not disposed towards ease of bearing 🙂 I often trip over my own feet or fall off of sneakers. I can’t even explain that last one. It happens.

    Hope the fam feels better soon!

    • Oh Allie, I can trip on flat ground. Perhaps I’m tripping on invisible things. 😀

      • Yes, I’m going to use that next time people laugh at me for falling over nothing 🙂

      • Those invisible things get me every time!

  5. Hmm…whenever I realize how nice the weather is outside after being cooped up inside all day…that’s a nice moment of grace for me.

    • Sounds lovely. Send some of that nice weather my way please! 🙂

  6. I’ve read a few post on God’s grace today it is something I will be forever grateful for. It is by His grace we are saved, His grace that we are here today. Humbling to know He loves us so much.

    Thank you for sharing.
    Misty

    • Thanks for the visit and the comment Misty!

Share your thoughts!

