All the manners I ever needed….Thought Provoking Thursday

A recent trip to Wal-Mart reminded me of this poem….

It was a very frustrating trip.  People bumping into us,  looking out for only themselves, cutting in lines, speaking in an ugly way…Very, very frustrating.  I get very tired of rude people and I sometimes wish we lived out in the woods somewhere.  We could buy a few cows and a few chickens, plant a huge garden and live off the land away from the rudeness of the city and the suburbs.  It seems like the more technology we, as a society, have access to…the less polite and involved with our fellow human beings we seem to be.  Wal-Mart seems to be a giant Petri dish of the most self involved, the rudest, the least kind…the worst of the worst. Meh!  My kids and I discussed this poem and it’s meaning on the way home from the store.  We talked about how nice it would be if everyone remembered and acted upon what they learned in Kindergarten.

Here is the poem I was talking about.

                                   “All I Ever Really Needed to Know I Learned in Kindergarten

                                                                                          – by Robert Fulghum
 
Most of what I really need to know about how to live, and what to do, and how to be, I learned in Kindergarten. Wisdom was not at the top of the graduate school mountain, but there in the sandbox at nursery school.
These are the things I learned: Share everything. Play fair. Don’t hit people. Put things back where you found them. Clean up your own mess. Don’t take things that aren’t yours. Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody. Wash your hands before you eat. Flush. Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you. Live a balanced life. Learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work some every day.
Take a nap every afternoon. When you go out into the world, watch for traffic, hold hands, and stick together. Be aware of wonder. Remember the little seed in the plastic cup. The roots go down and the plant goes up and nobody really knows how or why, but we are all like that.
Goldfish and hamsters and white mice and even the little seed in the plastic cup – they all die. So do we.
And then remember the book about Dick and Jane and the first word you learned, the biggest word of all: LOOK . Everything you need to know is in there somewhere. The Golden Rule and love and basic sanitation, ecology and politics and sane living.
Think of what a better world it would be if we all – the whole world – had cookies and milk about 3 o’clock every afternoon and then lay down with our blankets for a nap. Or if we had a basic policy in our nation and other nations to always put things back where we found them and clean up our own messes. And it is still true, no matter how old you are, when you go out into the world, it is best to hold hands and stick together.”
 

So my thoughts for today are these….

  • play nice
  • wait your turn
  • say Please and Thank You
  • speak kindly
  • don’t hit or bite
  • if you’re wrong admit it
  • don’t eat glue or crayons

Hope you have a fabulous Thursday!

22 Comments

  1. I love that poem!

    • It’s awesomeness. 🙂

  2. Had never seen this poem, but it´s true. Wise words indeed. And even here where I live, up a mountain, far from big towns…there are still rude and pushy people..but there are the kind and gentle ones too. People are the same the world over.

    • I guess, no matter where you are….rudeness happens. 😦

  3. I absolutely love this and need to print this out! For both home and work as its all so true. Thanks for sharing this.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love that poem.

  4. Ohh, Walmart IS the worst–but then again, I never feel particularly friendly when I’m in there either. I think it’s just the Walmart Effect…And I recall glue being particularly tasty, so I’m not so sure I’ll comply with that last one 🙂

    • Oh Allie. Don’t be a paste eater. Your insides will stick together. Ha!

  5. I’ve heard of this poem, but I don’t think I’ve ever read it before. That’s great and so true!

    One thing my parents drilled into me when I was young was to put things back where they belong (to the point that some might consider me a little OCD about things being put away in certain spots). A few years back, I borrowed a friend’s place overnight when she was gone, and when she got back, she called me up to ask if I had really spent the night because she said I left no clues that I had been there (yes, I had…there was an extra dirty towel in her hamper). I considered that a HUGE compliment. LOL

    • That’s pretty neat and tidy! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  6. I get tired of rude people as well…very, very frustrating. At what point did people forget their manners and common courtesy?! Great poem, btw.

  7. I like the part about taking afternoon naps. 🙂

    The rest, all so important. Everyone needs to know this!

    • I’m all about the afternoon naps too! 🙂 naps are brilliant!

  8. I love that poem. Words to live by. 🙂

    Walmart is just crazy!!! Walking from the parking lot to the entrance is a death trap. lol

    • I know right?!? It’s crazy town.

  9. I would completely agree with you on this. Women look at my kids with such ugly eyes if my kids simply walk in front of them while looking at something. People talk on their phones as if no ones around. We need some more random acts of kindness – especially in Walmart.

    • I agree with you Jennifer!

  10. All so true! We moved out of tthe city to a lake front and absolutely LOVE the quiet. We still have neighbors but they too seem not in such a hurry. Hope you can find some quiet time in the midst of the rush. Blessings, Debbie

    • Thank you for the comment Debbie! 🙂 Lake front living is something that my husband and I aspire to have once we’re on our own.

  11. a little niceness goes such a long way!

Share your thoughts!

