Sweet Carrot Pickles


I’m sad to report that the giant carrots seem to be all gone now.  For two weekly visits in a row (last week and this week), I have been unable to find the giant carrots at the Farmer’s Market.   My son thinks they are freaks of nature, he has not been enjoying the über carrots.

What do teens know about carrots?

I really like them, one carrot is usually more than enough for a veggie side. Plus,  I like them thinly sliced and dipped into ranch dressing.   That might be a southern thing though, we like most things dipped in ranch.  If you can deep fry it first, we’re even happier.

Have you ever had a fried pickle?  They are The. Bomb. (dot) Com.

Anyhoo,  from my last large carrot buy I’ve got 2 giant carrots left.  One I plan to shred for carrot-raisin salad.  The other one I’ve diced and I am making sweet carrot pickles.

These sweet, crisp little beauties are wonderful to snack on and great as a side dish.

This recipe is adapted from a recipe in the book “Urban Pantry” by Amy Pennington       *I am so loving this book*

Sweet Carrot Refrigerator Pickles

  • 4 carrots (or 1 giant carrot) peeled and then diced or thinly sliced.
  • 1-1/2 cups of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 bulb onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp orange peel
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Place carrots in a non-reactive bowl or a glass canning jar.  Set aside.

In a sauce pan, heat all the ingredients except the carrots over a medium heat until simmering.

       

Once the brine is almost boiling, remove it from the stove and pour the brine over the carrots.

Allow to set on the counter until the mixture is cool, stirring occasionally.

Serve the carrots in the brine. Or refrigerate for up to 3 weeks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Pardon my freaky bright pictures.  The lighting was off.

16 Comments

  1. I love pickled carrots! These look great. I hate to see stuff leave the farmers market.

    • I know, right? I hate seeing the end of fun things like giant carrots. I’ll miss them.

  2. Mmm, I loved fried pickles. But I can’t have them all the time. Carrots, on the other hand? Yup. Pickled carrots sound great–I always love when Mexican restaurants have the hot pickled carrots, sweet would be delicious (plus I love anything with ginger in it).

    • We discovered fried pickles when we visited Arkansas. We love them! I’ve not had spicy pickled carrots, but they sound interesting. 🙂

      • I love that even fancy restaurants around here offer fried pickles as an appetizer–sometimes (a lot of the time) I love the South 🙂 And I’ve never seen spicy carrots outside of a few Mexican restaurants, but always dig in (despite the tears). And now I have yet another canning idea, haha, spicy pickled carrots!

      • There are a few places here in the Dallas area that offer fried pickles, but not many. I love em! Yum!!

  3. oooo, never thought to pickle carrots, must try! also, I’ve been let in on a little pickling cheating secret! If you save the liquid from store bought pickles and put in sliced tomatoes and leave them in the fridge for a week, they come out awesome! so yummy.

    • Thanks for the comment and the tip Vicky!

  4. Pickled and fried….one portion for the lady in Spain please! Sound amazing and they look so pretty.

    • Are there many fried, pickled veggie dishes in Spain Tanya?

  5. Those are definitely some large carrots! I don’t believe I’ve ever seen any that large around my markets! This was a great idea to pickle the carrots. I imagine you could use them in so many ways or simply straight up!

    • I’d never seen them that large before either. They were so handy to have too. I’m going to miss them.

  6. Pickled carrots? Interesting, and the color’s very pretty!

    • They’re quite tasty. They’ve maintained a crisp crunch. I’m digging them.

  7. this is a new one for me 🙂

    • It might be a southern thing. Or a USA thing. They’re sweet and tasty though.

Share your thoughts!

