Project Marriage….In the Bedroom. A trick and a treat.

Now, don’t go all dirty minded on me.

Yes, I’m talking to you.

For shame!

This month’s challenge from the lovely Lori @ MommyFriend and Tina @ Life Without Pink  is (this is a direct quote)

“We are challenging you all to make a change (big or small) in your bedroom.”

I decided to play a little trick on my husband, because it was funny and because I owed him a trick.  Two years ago on Mother’s Day he gave me a trick present, followed up by a real present. The trick present was a toilet paper holder.  It has a note on it that said

“For all you do, this roll’s for you!”

😀 very funny and I actually wanted a new toilet paper holder so it was a useful item.  He also gave me a beautiful scarf and a hat.

It was a trick and a treat.

Since tricks are things best saved for when they are not expected I waited a while to trick him back.  Then two years past.  It’s about time that he got his trick back! Right?

My sweet neighbor gave me a gently used, very girly, multi-colored,  polka dot comforter and sham set.

A trick was born.

I replaced our current comforter with the polka-dotted rainbow one and  fixed the bed up.  Since the trick was set I began work on the treat.

My husband plays guitar and violin.  We have a desk area in our bedroom that he uses as his practice area.  It was very cluttered and he had no music stand for his sheet music.  I failed to take a before picture, but the after picture is great!

I cleaned up the area, dusted the desk and brought in a cookbook holder.  It’s a special type of holder that allows you to open a cookbook and keep it propped open to a certain page.  I hoped it would do the same thing with sheet music, and I was right!  It works perfectly!  No more propping his music up on the keyboard of the computer.

My daughter and I waited for him to get home.

Called him back to the bedroom. Showed him the bed.

His reaction.

Photo staged to show his initial reaction. Maybe he hammed it up a wee bit.

I told him it was a trick.

His reaction.

Obviously over acted relief/exasperation pose.

We showed him the “improved” music area.

His reaction.

True happiness picture.

He really enjoyed the improvements I made to his special musical space.  ❤

*Disclaimer*
No husbands were forced to sleep under polka-dotted, girly comforter during or after the writing of this post. The placement of said comforter was for entertainment purposes only.   The comforter went to our 12-year-old daughter’s room and she could not be more pleased.
 
 

20 Comments

  1. Best title ever. We don’t have a TV in our bedroom or computer. So we’re actually not in need of this challenge. Oh wait, I may have some shirts to fold.

    • Thank you. 🙂 Go fold those shirts! 😉

  2. Haha, I’d totally use that comforter. Probably shouldn’t admit that, should I? Love the prank and the gift. And the awesome reenactments. Two years is definitely not too long to wait for revenge 😀

    • I think it’s a great girl comforter. My daughter loves it. It’s not very manly though. 😉 I loved the reenactment photos too! 🙂

  3. Hee hee, you cheeky monkey you! And what a good sport to do the photos your husband is 🙂

    • I had fun being tricksey! 😀

  4. Funny! Now my wheels are turning…something for my husband…trick or treat…this will be fun..thanks for the idea

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Jennifer! It was a lot of fun to think up the trick and the treat!

  5. OMG this was awesome! Love your hubby’s reaction 🙂 Thanks for linking up with us! #projectmarriage

    • Thanks Tina! I had a lot of fun setting it up and writing this post. 🙂

  6. Liz

    Although not at all masculine, that makes for a really cute girls’ room!

    • Thanks for the comment Liz! My daughter really loves it! 🙂

  7. Oh, that is hilarious!!!! My husband would have flipped out seeing that!

    So darling for a girl’s room, though!

    • Shell, my husband is a pretty good sport huh? 🙂

  8. Dave does not care what colour the bedroom is which is great, as I am going to make it dusty pinks 🙂 Love the staged pics!

    • Thanks Tandy! My hubby is a good sport!

  9. Janice

    Great post! Too funny. Love that he plays along!!!

    • 🙂 I’m really glad that you enjoyed it. He’s awesome at playing along. 🙂

  10. I like that comforter! It’s kind of cute. 🙂 Love the *trick*!

    • Thanks Andrea! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment.

Share your thoughts!

