Butterscotch Blondies….the brownie’s blonde cousin.

I love baking. Even in the heat…the recipe ideas call to me…. Butterscotch Blondies called to me.

I made these on Friday.

I told my family I was making blondies and my kids went Wha? I said you know “Blondie” the music group…total silence, heads cocked sideways like confused cocker spaniels. Total Errrr? Wha??? looks on their little not so little faces. I said, “I’m kidding, it’s like a brownie”, their confused looks remained. *sigh* I said, “A blondie is like a brownie, except it is not chocolate”. They then, meekly nodded in agreement…just grin and nod at the crazy Momma is probably what they were thinking…grin and nod.ย 

So, for those who don’t know…

A Blondie is like a Brownie, but blonde not brown, it’s not chocolate and it’s a little cooler…because it was made in tribute to the pop group Blondie. The song “Heart of glass” being the inspiration.

or so says wikipedia.

Urban dictionary was no help. The best they had to offer was a Pot brownie made with white chocolate….soooooo not going there. Just say NO people. Just say No!

I prefer

but maybe that’s just me.

Anyhoo, on with the recipe.

WHAT YOU NEED

Wait

Wait…wait…first you have to see the cutest baking dish EVER! It was a gift, from a dear friend.

See, it was worth the pause right?

WHAT YOU NEED

Butterscotch Blondies

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour (sifted) I have not tried this recipe with whole wheat flour yet….
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup (two sticks) of butter (at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar (firmly packed)
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup of buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla
  • 1 cup of butterscotch morsels

Pre-heat your oven (blah the heat, but yum the desert) 375 degrees F.ย  Spray your baking pan with baking spray, rub it with butter (whatever you like to do to grease up the pan)

Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl. In your mixer (or your mixing bowl) place the butter and both types of sugar. Whip those bad boys until they are creamy and a pale yellow color. Add the eggs, the buttermilk and the vanilla and continue to mix the “wet” ingredients until they are creamy and smooth. Slowly…slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients continue mixing on a med-low speed.

Add the butterscotch chips and ever so gently fold them into the batter.

Spread the batter into your baking pan. Do not eat the blondies raw…that’s bad for you. Okay, maybe just a taste ๐Ÿ˜‰ if you must.

Bake the blondies for about 25-30 min (or until the top is golden and a tester *toothpick* comes out mostly clean)

Cool.

Cut.

Serve.

Try not to eat them all in one day.

19 Comments

  1. Woah woah woah–a polka dot baking dish?! Where did your most amazing friend find such a thing? I want one! And I never knew blondies were actually related to Blondie. My last blondie attempt was a disappointment (tried to make them too healthy, sometimes you just NEED to break out the sugar and vegan margarine), yours look decadently amazing! And wait a second–this is a new blog look, isn’t it? Changing things up around here!

    • I know. It’s fracking awesome right? I’ll post the info on where to buy them tomorrow.

    • Thank you for noticing my blog changes! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Youยดve changed – very snazzy! I love Blondie (the group) and have a memory of being in just the right place in London when Debbie Harry was signing records (remember those?) when I was 13…I thought I had died and gone to punk heaven! Still like the music but love the food even more….and these look “Atomic” (geddit?!).

    • Thank you for noticing my changes! ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, I remember records….I had many. I still have a few Duran Duran singles. Remember the singles? Two songs…pure genius!

  3. Too funny. I love Blondie the group too. Katherine would love that dish! Great recipe too.

    • Thank you! Tell Katherine I’m posting where the dotted dish can be ordered tomorrow. ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s awesome!

  4. Blondie takes me back a bit! I much prefer brownies, but these look yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. jay

    ohh…wow…excellent preparation…
    very beautiful presentation dear..:)
    Tasty Appetite

  6. I love both versions of blondie – the singer and the dessert. I last saw Blondie a few years ago in concert but I’ve never actually made the dessert (just indulged outside of home). You may have given me the motivation to whip up a batch tho – thanks!

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. Love your twist on the Cordon Bleu!

  7. Very funny . . . and this looks like a great blondie recipe–love the addition of pumpkin pie spice. I had no idea Blondie had anything to do with this recipe. Who knew?

    • I know right? I find out all kinds of interesting things on the Internet. I love pumpkin pie spice. I toss it into all sorts of things.

  8. Yum! Love the sound of these blondies!

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Rockin baked goods! Thanks!

  9. How I love blondies and you have inspired me to start baking them. Thanks for linking to Bake withBizzy.

Share your thoughts!

