Cornbread Taco Pie

Making dinner from leftovers does not have to be hum-drum.

I had cooked ground beef (left over from taco night) and corn (left over from another meal) what to do…what to do. Roast the corn, make a taco pie and cover it in yummy corn filled cornbread. Sounds like a perfect plan, and lucky you…you get a recipe for the filling, the cornbread and the taco seasoning. 🙂

This recipe could easily be made vegetarian, add beans instead of meat.

Here’s what I’m using.

  • 1 lb. cooked ground beef and/or cooked beans
  • 2 tsp chopped garlic
  • 1/2 can of corn (or 3 ears of roasted corn de-cobbed) I roasted the (pre-cooked) corn for 30 min @ 350 degrees, I sprinkled the corn with salt and olive oil and wrapped it in foil.
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup of salsa (homemade)
  • 1-4 TBSP taco seasoning, depending on desired spice level (see recipe at the bottom of the page)
  • 3/4 cup of water

Cornbread recipe (this recipe is adapted from a recipe found on the corn meal package)

  • 1 cup of corn meal
  • 1/3 cup of flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 2/3 cup of milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 TBSP veg oil
  • 3 TBSP honey
  • 1/2 can corn or three ears of the roasted corn, de-cobbed.

Mix all the ingredients together (except the corn) once the cornbread mix is ready add the corn and give it a gentle stir. Pour over the taco pie filling. Or, to make cornbread muffins, scoop it into muffin tins and bake for about 20 min. @ 450 deg F

To make the Taco pie. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees F.

Add all the filling ingredients to a large, oven safe pot, cover and simmer on the stove top for 20 min. stir every 5 min.

Sprinkle the filling mixture with cheese and top with cornbread mix(recipe above). Cover and bake for 40-50 min. Remove lid and bake for 10-15 more min. (Leaving the lid on for most of the cooking time allows the cornbread to cook fully, If you are worried that the cornbread is not fully cooked…cut the cornbread all the way to the filling tilt your knife sideways and see if there is any goopy cornbread areas.

Serve with a salad. Enjoy.

Taco seasoning recipe.

I bought a pre-made taco seasoning so I could duplicate the flavor. Silly? Perhaps, but it was the best way to be able to really duplicate a flavor we like.

Taco Seasoning

  • 1 tsp chili pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • pinch of red pepper
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt

mix well and store in a sealed container.

Store bought on the left, Homemade on the right

20 Comments

  1. So, I always want to make whatever recipe you’re posting–and this is no different. I love tacos, I love cornbread–how could this go wrong? Yummm.

    • How do you overcome the egg issue? Since your Vegan I always wonder when I post recipes with eggs in them.

      I really do think about some of you when I cook.

      • Easiest solution with the most predictable results- Ener G Egg Replacer. It has absolutely no nutritional value, but it’s a powder that you mix with water to replace egg. Eggs can also be replaced by flax seeds, chia seeds, banana, applesauce, pureed tofu, etc., just depends on what you’re making/what the egg needs to do.

      • Thank you, Allie. I’d been wondering. 🙂

  2. What a clever idea. I love one pot meals. I did something similar recently, but with Polenta.

    • Oh interesting!

      I love 1 pot meals. Less clean-up!!

  3. Leftovers are the best and this looks delicious!

    • I love leftovers! 🙂 it’s like a mini cooking day, because the meal is already half way cooked.

  4. How fantastic does this cornbread taco pie sound! Great recipe!

    • Thanks! It’s very versatile. It works with beef, chicken and/or beans.

  5. what a great way to use the left overs 🙂

    • Thanks. 🙂 I hate throwing things away.

  6. what a wonderful idea! You’re a very clever cook! I would never have thought to put things together like this. Looks great.

    • Thanks Maureen. It sounded good and I was lucky…it ended up great.
      I do this sort of thing a lot. Toss things together, that is. Blogging gives me a good reason to slow down and document my cooking.

      By the way, love your pea soup recipe. Yum!

  7. kat

    How clever! That sounds really good! 🙂

    • Thanks Kat! The party in your mouth salsa you posted looks great. 🙂

  8. I love anything (just about) topped with cornbread! 🙂 And, right now, with this heat, I certainly don’t want to heat up the oven so I’m filing this one away to make when it’s under 90 degrees! Looks delish.

    • It is yummy, but it also is a bit more of a fall or winter thing. I’m all season wonky though, I like soups and stews year round. I’m a nut.

  9. This looks really delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this solution with my readers.

    • Thank you for setting up the blog share! I have read through a few of the other contributors posts and I am loving the posts! I’m working my way through them, when I am on my computer. The iPhone is good for surfing, but not great for commenting.

Share your thoughts!

