Weeds in my Life Garden

I’m recycling today.  It’s good for the environment (right?) I’ve had a nasty headache for the last 36 hours, no break (except for sleep).  It SUCKS! I’m feeling like a zombie.  I’m grumpy, sleepy and dopey all rolled into one 5 foot tall dwarf (which is tall for a dwarf and short-ish for a full-grown woman).  It’s migraine or sinus related I think.  I’m feeling pretty crappy. 

When I get a headache like this, it has an affect on my sense of smell. It’s similar to how my sense of smell was altered when I was pregnant. Things smell bad (spoiled) even when they are not. My husband can attest to the fact that I threw away 3 or 4 perfectly good pot-roasts while I was pregnant because they “smelled bad” to my pregnancy altered nose.

Anyhooo…..

So without further ado…..This is another transferred post, from my old blog – to my new blog. Interweb recycling. It’s all the rage.  I hope you enjoy it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This morning I was in my front yard getting my paper and I noticed my flower beds. Oh the horror! I’ve got quite a lot of weeds in my garden. It’s really sad, the weeds choke the flowers, crowd the bushes and populate like bunnies. I’ve got some good reasons ehh… excuses for the weed population in my garden. Sick child, busy life, bone spur in my left knee, it’s hot, I’m tired, I’ve got a headache…blah blah blah. I’m tolerant of the garden weeds for now, because I’m not feeling like fixing the issue at the moment.

The weeds got me thinking though………………………………

How many weeds do I have in my life?

It’s a tricky question to answer. Honest answer?

I’m not really sure. Some life weeds are easy to spot. They are ugly and very “weed like”. Others are deceptively pretty, flower like, fun. It’s easy to miss the pretty weeds, because they fool you. I think they are the more dangerous weeds. We become use to them. We overlook them. They do not set off the alarms that the “ugly weeds” do.

Life is about balance, the weeds throw things off kilter. They muddy your life and cause chaos.

I’m putting my weeds on notice, getting my gloves and spade….it’s time to fix my life garden.

10 Comments

  1. Love the zombie attack warning!

    • I do to! I love zombie references. 🙂

  2. You poor thing. My wife gets migraines. I can tell when she’s starting to get one, she tells me to be quiet, not that wasn’t a joke. She’ll say why are you talking so loud? Her sense of smell too is heightened. She came in once, think I was making fish, and she just said I don’t think I can eat that. I know before she tells me. Anyway, hate that it took you out for that long.

    • Thanks Greg. Poor Katherine. 😦 These type of headaches suck…big time. I usually ask the kids Are you yelling? It seems like you’re yelling. I am happy to report that I am feeling A LOT better this afternoon. No horrible headache, I don’t feel like biting anyone’s head off. I feel like a real person again.

  3. I feel for you. I too am a migraine sufferer with the same symptoms as you. The only very small benefit is that once it´s fully over I am kind of buzzing a little…hope you feel better soon.

  4. hope the headache goes away – drinks loads of water 🙂

    • Thanks Tandy. It’s much better now!

  5. I had the pregnancy nose, too! Well, it was more like a werewolf nose as I had SUCH an acute sense of smell it was… annoying!!! Have an egg salad sandwich for lunch? I’ll know, even at dinner time. It was so annoying. If dogs are like this, poor things.

    Thankfully it has waned a bit. Otherwise, I’d be walking around with cotton shoved up both nostrils!

    🙂 And as far as weeding life’s garden… I have a lot of thigns I should weed… (I read FAR too many blogs)… so is that an indulgence or a hindrance in my life? Double edged sword…. Grrr!

    • Pregnancy nose is crazy.

      I hear ya on the blog reading. I think I spent 2 hours leaving comments last evening. Two hours reading and commenting. Sheesh! It’s fun though.

Share your thoughts!

