Roasted Carrots

Oven Roasting Carrots, the easy way.

My daughter and I went to our local Farmer’s Market on Monday. Although I have a garden, I am not able to fulfill all my families fruit and veggie needs. When I am able to, I prefer to shop for my fruit and veggies at my local Farmer’s Market.

We bought these giant carrots.

20110718-052541.jpg

Here is how I roast my carrots, it’s fairly easy……

  • Set oven temp to 350 deg F
  • Wash and peel carrots
  • place a large piece of foil on a baking sheet (large enough to fold the foil over and make a closed packet)
  • place carrots on the foil
  • drizzle with olive oil
  • sprinkle with sea salt
  • sprinkle with a small amount of brown sugar (1 TBSP)
  • you could also sprinkle cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice on them. I make my own pumpkin pie spice

  • fold foil up on the sides and pinch it together in the center (like you are making a package)

20110718-052555.jpg

  • make a few small slits in the foil
  • bake for 45 min to 1 hour (depending on the size of the carrots) my giant carrots took closer to an hour and a half.

  • cool slightly, remove from foil, slice and enjoy!

What’s your favorite way to use carrots? I’ve got plans for 2 of the 3 carrots I have left, but I’ve still got 1 to plan a use for. Ideas?

 

13 Comments

  1. That would make Bugs Bunny really happy. Look at the size of that thing. Can’t go wrong with roasted veggies.

    • Greg, I’m not sure I’ve ever seen carrots this big before. These are certainly the largest carrots I’ve ever cooked with.
      I was worried that they would lack flavor because of their size, but they are delicious.

  2. I lke roasting carrots too but have never used spices, sounds gorgeous! I make carrot and coriander soup, coleslaw and honey glazed carrots…..they´re good too 🙂

    • carrot and coriander soup yum!!

  3. Looks and sounds delicious! I’ll be giving these a try soon.

    • They are really tasty! I hope you enjoy it!

  4. love this, so simple!!

    • Thanks for the comment! I love roasting veggies. It’s a great way to retain their flavor.

  5. WOAH that’s a huge carrot! I typically like my carrots raw, but have recently started steaming ’em and making soup as of late. I guess this means I have to be adventurous and try some roasting now, too…

    • I think you would enjoy them roasted. They are soft, but they retain their flavor.

  6. These look yummy!

  7. I have never tried doing them in foil! I love carrots glazed with butter and fresh marjoram 🙂

    • I love glazing them too! So yummy!

Share your thoughts!

