~Meatless Monday~a week of meals

So, Sunday was family day. We went to Farmer’s Market, we cooked on our backyard grill, we ate outside in our nice, paved outdoor dining area and after dinner we splashed around in the pool. It was a really nice day.

Here’s a peek at my super full fridge.

20110710-105651.jpg

Yea, I bought a lot at the Farmer's Market

All day, while we played, two of my slow cookers worked. They were busy turning four pounds of pinto beans from hard and inedible to soft and delicious.

Four pounds is A LOT of beans. Am I crazy? Probably. Am I frugal? Absolutely. I had a bag of beans that was 15 days from the “use by date”. What’s a gal to do? Cook lots and lots of beans.Sure, I could have cooked half this week and half next week. It seemed like less work to get them all cooked now.

Slow cooker 1

Slow Cooker 2

4 pounds of dried beans equals about 24 cups of cooked beans, give or take a cup.
That’s more than I expected, but I’m not worried.

I’m going to freeze some of the cooked beans. Beans freeze well, so cooking them now does not mean I have to eat them all now.
I’ve prepared 3 freezer bags with 4 cups beans in each one. 12 cups of beans are now in the freezer. Whew!  The cooked/frozen beans will be perfect for stews, soups and chili.

I’m also going to be making 4 or 5 meals this week that include beans.
The rest of the beans are in a storage container in the fridge for our meals this week.

I have not decided yet which recipe I am making tonight. Here are the meals I’m planning for this week.

It’s like I’m meal planning or something….shocking. 😉

  1. Beans with Polenta squares
  2. Baked pasta and bean casserole
  3. Bean-pasta stew
  4. Macaroni-bean skillet
  5. Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Leave me a comment, let me know which recipes you’d like to see. I’ll post the one or two of them this week.

12 Comments

  1. I love slow cooking dried beans! Cheapest food ever. And I want your fridge full of veggies, oh yum! That is pretty much gorgeous. I would love a good recipe for shepherd’s pie, although I love anything to do with polenta! Way to plan out some tasty sounding food!

    • Thanks! I love the Farmer’s Market, although Sunday is the most crowded day.
      I can’t seem to leave the Farmer’s Market with out spending at least $40 on produce.
      We had corn and 8ball squash last night, the corn was so fresh…so wonderful.

      • Had to google 8 ball squash–Tooo cute. I can’t wait for fresh corn–but luckily my countrified extended family grows massive amounts so I get it for free (probably why I’m hesitant to go to Farmer’s markets–I know I’d buy that much too! Except only for me and not a family 😀 )

      • I should have taken a picture of the 8-ball squash. They are so fracking cute!

        I need to find out how to grow them. 🙂

  2. I love No. 1 the best. I’m so enjoying the farmers market. Actually, we have two that we go to and the one is more local, but the other has basil so we can’t skip it. It gets so crowded and Katherine’s a fast walker, not a good mix.

    • Fast walking and big crowds are hard to combine.

      I wish we had 2 markets to choose from! The only one I know of in my area is in Downtown Dallas.

  3. I normally make more than I can use of beans and freeze the remaining. It’s just so much easier that way. I’m for polenta! In fact, I’m making some tonight!

    • I agree it’s much easier to just get them all done at one time. 🙂

  4. Am seriously impressed by your tidy fridge!! And I vote number 1 please (although they all sound good). We love beans here too!!

    • Thanks Tanya! I never thought of my fridge as tidy. That made me smile. 🙂

  5. I love your fridge! Especially as it looks as if it has so many nice things in it 🙂

    • Thanks Tandy. I love my fridge. I’m pretty fond of the items in it too.
      😉

Share your thoughts!

