Down by the sea….

To read Part 1 of our vacation

To read Part 2 of our vacation

Things are different by the sea. Time passes differently, phones don’t work as well, internet…forget about it.

Sand gets pretty much everywhere. Everywhere (enough said).

Being down by the sea helped my husband be one with the waves (our ninja wave warrior), my son became a sand castle builderΒ  and my daughter and I became defenders of the coquina clams on the beach. We bravely tried to protect them from the waves and the ever present, ever hungry sea gulls.

Sea gulls are the pigeons of the sea. Seriously, they are ever present. They congregate in groups, they are always hungry and they beg for food.

We fed the sea gulls a few times, a few pieces of bread here, an accidental feeding of a mostly full bag of chips at the beach (the wind blew the bag out of my husband’s hands and he had to run for his life as the sea gulls began dive bombing the ground to get the chips), a few muffin crumbs another day, and on our last day…an entire loaf of bread.

I do NOT recommend that you ever take an entire loaf of bread out to feed sea gulls, it was too much. There were too many sea gulls, they were too excited, it became a bit scary.

The birds went all “Fight Club” on each other.

My family retreated to the safety of the car before all the bread was gone.

Back to the coquina clams, they were beautiful. No, we did not remove any of them from the beach. They are very interesting to watch as they dig back down into the sand after a wave disrupts them. Due to the crazy wind the waves were wild. Waves seem to come in 3’s. Small, larger, largest (rinse and repeat) then every once in a while there is a massive wave, unexpected, it is larger and faster than the others. The massive wave gets closer to the car than any of the others, it washes away my son’s sand castles, it washes little fish up onto the shore. One wave was so strong it washed a little fish into my swim suit. I’m serious. I had a tiny fish in my pants! I thought it was a coquina clams, until I felt it wiggle and then I began to squeal.

That’s a first for me, a fish in my pants!

Here are our sea pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



“Link up your Summer Fun for a chance to win prizes from Ubisoft.”

18 Comments

  1. I love how you describe your beach adventure, it just sounds so peaceful/family time/just right. And seagulls aren’t even limited to pigeons of the beach, they’ve moved inland. They are the pigeons of the city…along with pigeons. Which isn’t good for me, because I am not a fan of bold birds all up in my business (some early morning alliteration for you).

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. We had a great time. πŸ™‚

      I’m not a fan of birds all up in my business either. πŸ˜‰

  2. Looks like you guys had a great time!

  3. What a lovely post – being by the sea is always something very special. And it looks like you had the entire beach to yourselves!

  4. great post! great vacation!

    • Thanks! It was wonderful. πŸ™‚

  5. Life is different by the sea. πŸ™‚

    Love the slideshow!

    • Thank you Shell! πŸ™‚ Thanks for setting up the blog hop!

  6. Oh my- I adore the way that you set this up! So very savvy! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting! πŸ™‚ Your Summer pictures are beautiful! Looks like a lake? I really enjoyed your 10 tips for new bloggers!

  7. Great pictures!!

    • Thanks so much Angie! Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  8. You guys look like you had a great time. It’s such a beautiful area, by the pictures!

    • Thank you Missy. We had a very nice trip.

  9. It’s never a good idea to feed those seagulls too much. It does get overwhelming fast! LOL
    Great pics! Stopped by from Shell’s Summer Show Off!

    • Thanks for the comment Adrienne. Yes, we found that out first hand. Too much food + seagulls=CHAOS

Share your thoughts!

