Creamy Grape Salad, a guest post by Rose

I just adore Rose, I was so excited when she offered to do a guest post for me during my “blog-cation week”! Rose is an outstanding cake artist. I’m not kidding, some of her cakes almost look too pretty to eat…almost. 😉

I hope you enjoy Rose’s post, I know I am going to enjoy eating this grape salad one day soon.

Creamy Grape Salad

Guest Post by Rose Atwater from AdventuresinSavings.com

Summertime is in full force here in southern Mississippi (it was 92° today) and with summertime, comes cool, refreshing salads. The salad that I want to share today is one of my Mama’s favorite salads and it’s her go-to recipe for potlucks at church. Everybody likes it – it can sit on the dessert table or be served as a light and sweet side dish.

It has tons of flavors and textures and it’s just plain yummy! I made it myself a couple of weeks ago and it was gone lightning fast! So… here we go.

Here’s what you’ll need to make this delicious salad:

4 pounds of seedless grapes (green and/or purple – I use 2 lbs of each)
1 8 oz package of cream cheese, at room temperature
1 8 oz container sour cream
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract*

4 ounces chopped pecans
2 tablespoons of brown sugar

*Pure vanilla extract is best, but all I had on hand was clear vanilla flavoring from my cake adventures.

Wash and dry grapes, then cut them all in half (the cutting step can be skipped, but the grapes seem to absorb the flavor better if they’re cut and it adds an extra texture).

In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, sour cream, vanilla, and white sugar. Mix until smooth and creamy.

Pour the “dressing” over the grapes and stir until evenly incorporated.

I forgot to take a picture of it all mixed up before the last step :(.

Sprinkle with brown sugar and pecans, mix again and refrigerate for a couple of hours to chill or until you’re ready to serve.

Refrain from eating a bowl before it has a chance to chill…or not. I couldn’t help myself!!

I have heard that this salad is also wonderful using Splenda instead of sugar, fat free cream cheese and low fat sour cream! I haven’t tried it myself but if you’re on a diet, I think it’s certainly worth a shot!

Rose has been married to her college sweetheart, Richard, for almost 15 years and they live in the country with their 6 children, 20+ chickens, a cat and a garden! She blogs over at AdventuresinSavings.com and shares deals, freebies, coupons and lots of other fun stuff, including her love of cake baking and other kitchen adventures! Be sure to look her up on Facebook as well…here and here.

22 Comments

  1. This sounds fabulous. We are going to be overrun with grapes in about 2 months, so I know one dish they´re going to go into! We don´t have potlucks, but they sound like fun….I want to go to one 🙂

    • You could start a new trend in Spain, Tanya. Invite some friends over, have everyone bring their favorite side dish or desert, add drinks and a meat or two….you’ve just thrown a pot-luck.

    • I wish we were overrun with grapes! They’re so expensive here right now, but my Mama still finds a way to make this about every other week!

      • I am always on the lookout for sale prices on grapes. You’re right Rose…grapes are sometimes pretty expensive.

  2. That looks wonderful. I bet it’d go so fast at a party. It has to be healthier than a dessert right?

    • It’s gotta be healthier than some deserts. 😉

    • If you do the substitutions at the bottom (low fat /fat free sour cream and cream cheese and a sugar substitute) it would certainly be a low-cal dessert!

      • 🙂 great advice Rose. Don’t let Greg fool you, he compares things to “Big-Macs”. 🙂

  3. Ooh, looks great – what a great way to get kids to eat more fruit! You could mix in some homemade granola too. And absolutely perfect for a potluck!

    • Great idea!

    • Mmmm, I’m a huge granola fan – I bet it would be delicious!

      • Do you make your granola Rose? Just wondering.

      • I’m gradually venturing into more and more homemade stuff, but I’ve never made granola (yet!).

      • I’m tweaking a granola recipe I found on another blog. I’ll share it soon.

  4. Sounds great – I would definitely go for that on a buffet table! 🙂

    • I agree! It looks very tasty. Thanks for the comment!

  5. Great idea!
    salad meets dessert 🙂 what could be better?

  6. Ms. chocolate

    This is just too rich.But very good.

    • I made this recently. It does have a rich taste, but it’s wonderful. It’s a great summer desert, I’m planning on making it again this weekend for our 4th of July celebration.

    • Hmmm, I wouldn’t have thought to use rich to describe it, but I guess that’s true! I just love all the textures and the sweet/tart combo!

      • I can say from tasting it, I agree with you Rose the flavors work well together.

Share your thoughts!

