Tasty Taco Soup, a guest post by Michelle

My sweet Sister-in-love, Michelle, agreed to share a recipe with us! I’m so excited. Michelle is a busy lady, raising and home schooling two boys with her husband & writing a wonderful and uplifting blog SomeGirl’s Website. My Sister by marriage is a wonderful lady to know and I’m happy to share her with you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tasty Taco Soup

What a joy to be able to fill in for Jamie today. I feel a little unqualified to be sharing, but I’m going to remind myself that this is A “Dash” of Domestic, right? And I’ve at least got a dash in me (somewhere in there). πŸ˜‰

I do, however, have an awkward confession to make here in the virtual home of such a wonderful chef…

I don’t like to cook (at all).

I LOVE having people over and I really enjoy providing a good meal for our guests, but the actual cooking (and cleaning) doesn’t float my boat (sometimes sinks it). πŸ˜‰

Thankfully, I found a recipe that is quick and easy to make and always receives compliments. It’s become my go-to guest meal, game night dish, weekend easy fix…

It’s so good that anytime I take it places, people ask for the recipe (gotta love that!). It’s even the recipe Jamie requested I share here with you guys; knowing first hand what a wonderful cook she is, that says a lot (and makes me feel quite honored… thank you, Jamie).

So, if you’re at all like me and enjoy having a quick, easy, tasty dish (and something that will get lots of compliments and be ready to eat when you get home from a day out), I’d HIGHLY recommend the following recipe:

Tasty Taco Soup

2 lbs ground beef
1 onion
1 can Ro-tel tomatoes
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 pkg taco seasoning
1 pkg ranch dressing (dry mix)
3 cans diced tomatoes
2 cans pinto beans
2 cans corn
1 1\2 cup water

Brown meat and onions. Add seasoning. Stir in remainder of ingredients. Simmer 30 minutes. Serve with grated cheese, sour cream and fritos.

To make in a crockpot: Brown meat and onions then combine all ingredients in slow cooker. Cook on low 6-8 hours or on high 3-4 hours.

(personally modified from a Taco Soup recipe found in an old community cookbook from a local church)

Hope you enjoy it! And, hey, now you have a GREAT reason to invite some friends over! πŸ™‚

Love,

β™₯ Michelle (aka SomeGirl)

SomeGirl’s Website– Spurring one another on toward love and good deeds… laughing, connecting and provoking thoughts along the way.

17 Comments

  1. Thanks for letting me share, Jamie! Hope you have a GREAT vacation!

    • Thank you my sweet sister! I’m excited to finally have the famed taco soup recipe! πŸ™‚

  2. Jamie does leave some pretty big shoes to fill, but you did just fine!

    • Thank you!

      Great braiding skills, btw. Love the photo! {http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/my-fantastic-garlic-braiding-skills/}

      • Greg has the best food photos! I’m always hungry after I look at the pictures of the food he and his wife make.

    • I agree, Michelle did great! πŸ™‚

  3. For someone who says they donΒ΄t enjoy to cook, this looks pretty tasty and impressive. Really enjoyed reading your post!

    • Thank you! If everything was as easy and tasty to make as this I might have to change my stance on cooking. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for taking the time to comment! πŸ™‚

      • You’re a great cook, even if you don’t enjoy it. I love your chili.

  4. Jill

    I’ve often made taco soup for a small group – had the others bring things to go with it – the things missing from your version, which we put on top after it’s in the bowl:

    1. Grated cheese
    2. Sour Cream
    3. Guacamole
    4. Tortilla Chips – broken up over the top of the bowl.

    Also, if you use pre-packaged taco seasoning, you probably don’t need to add salt…speaking as a person with hypertension issues. And if you like things a little spicier, you can add some cayenne powder.

    Jill

    • Yum, guacamole is something I hadn’t thought of, but it sounds delicious! Thanks for the cayenne powder and salt tip… I probably ought to heed that advice and cut down on salt myself. πŸ™‚

    • Great ideas, thanks Jill!

  5. Hope to make this soon! Yum!

    • Hope you enjoy it! πŸ™‚

  6. I came from your sister-in-love’s blog! Love Taco Soup. Now, I need to go make some!

    • Hello Barbie! Welcome! Go…try Michelle’s soup…:) I’m glad you stopped by.

    • Thanks for popping over here, Barbie! And for taking the time to comment! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

