Meatless Monday: Making veggie stock, via my slow cooker

I’m making homemade veggie stock. Veggie stock is a great base for meatless soups and stews. It’s chocked full of veggie goodness and way tastier than plain water.

What the heck do you put in a veggie stock? If that’s your question, the answer is simple….what do you have?

  • I keep veggie scraps (your recipe calls for half of this or half of that, what happens to the other “half”? I save the other half, if I don’t plan to use it within a day, by freezing it.)
  • I use frozen veggies, not the ones I have saved, pre-packaged frozen veggies.
  • I use fresh veggies

I usually start with a base of onion, carrot, celery…sometimes I add bell pepper, artichoke stalks, kale, leeks, I’ve added zucchini. So really…what do you have?

Today I added

  • pearl onions (1 package, frozen)
  • 6 carrots (roughly chopped)
  • 1 package of frozen chopped onion, green pepper and celery
  • 1/2 of a stalk of celery, chopped (including the leafy bits)
  • 1 bunch of green onions
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 TBSP parsley
  • 2 TBSP sea salt (or less to taste)
  • 1 tsp tarragon (or thyme)
  • 2 TBSP chopped garlic
  • enough water to cover the veggies (I fill the slow cooker as full as I can, more stock for me)

Cook on low for at least 6 hours or High for at least 4 hours. Turn off the slow cooker, cool slightly, strain the broth to remove the veggies. I mash the veggies and push as much of the flavor and liquid goodness out of them and into the stock, it adds thickness and deeper flavor to the stock.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can convert this recipe for use on the stove top. Use 1 TBSP of oil to brown the onions and release the flavor of the spices, add the remaining ingredients and water (2 quarts or more) simmer (uncovered) on a medium heat for 30-45 min.

Cool, separate into 2-4 cup portions and freeze. I got 3 two cup containers and 2 four cup containers.

You just made your own veggie stock.

Just so you don’t wonder…….I also make a Spinach Quiche last night to serve for dinner tonight.

One word of caution on cleaning the slow cooker or pot after making veggie stock. Give the pot or crockery a pre-soak & pre-washing before putting it in the dishwasher. I failed to do this and am now having to rewash everything with a little vinegar. Everything in my dishwasher smells like veggie stock. Not cool. So save yourself the extra washing…pre-soak, give it a good scrub, then wash it in the dishwasher.

19 Comments

  1. That looks great. I love fresh stock. I always have chicken on hand, but when I need veggie I have to make it. I just don’t use it as much.

    • I don’t use it as often as I use chicken stock. I should be able to use the 5 containers worth that I froze within a few months. I understand why you make it as needed. I’ve got that extra freezer, so I’ve got space to store it.

      • Rub it in, woman. Rub it in!:)

      • Sorry! It’s not a big one, if that makes you feel any better. It is a small chest freezer. We bought it at Sam’s Wholesale. I believe it was under $250, but we bought it 5 years ago when my old (very large) chest freezer stopped working and I lost tons of food. The small model does not seem to add much to my electric bill and it is able to tolerate the HOT Texas summer heat.

  2. I want a slow cooker! I do the same as you with the veggies that donΒ΄t get to the chickens. I also make quite a lot of fish stock (for our paellas!) from prawn shells and fish bones. Your quiche looks fantastic. How do you do these wonderful slide shows? Have been trying to work it out πŸ™‚

    • Tanya,
      I’ll post about it. It’s not very hard, assuming you have the same options on your wordpress as I do.
      Do get a slow cooker, they are wonderful to have. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve never made veggie stock. I’ve made chicken stock… never even thought about veggie stock. Love you! So glad you’re Mrs. Suzie Homemaker like me! πŸ™‚ hee hee… kindred spirits.

    And you know what’s funny. I’ve never EVER washed my crock pot in the dishwasher! I handwash it and put it away. I’m just funny like that.

    I like to pour mine into ice cube trays and then freeze so that I can just add what I need to recipes. I like the idea of saving larger portions. Perhaps I’ll try this… πŸ™‚

    • I bet you’ll enjoy it. ***HUGS***

      I hate washing dishes by hand if I don’t have to. My dishwasher has a sanitize setting, and I like knowing that my dishes are sanitized.

  4. This is BRILLIANT. I am always looking for new ways to use my slow cooker (best invention ever), and I am always spending too much on premade veggie broth. And I feel guilty about tossing veggie scraps that don’t get used! So many problems solved, I can’t wait to break out the crockpot and make some broth this weekend.

    • πŸ™‚ Thanks. The veggie broth is healthy, frugal and easy (three of my favorite things!) I love my slow cooker(s). I have 4 of them.
      Loved your recipe for pretzel dogs.
      I may give it a try, I’m an omnivore, so I’ll probably use beef hotdogs. πŸ™‚

      • You should definitely try ’em out, I’m sure they’d be just as good w/ real dogs πŸ˜€ And 4 slow cookers?? That sounds…fabulous. I just have one small one, but it works for a single gal (and has enough room to cook enough beans for a month)

      • I have 1 extra large, 2 large (1 round and 1 oval) and one really small one. There are 4 of us, one is a 13 year-old boy, so we go through a lot of food. I also don’t use the same crockery for meat as I do for deserts. That might be strange though. I never said I was not strange. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. July Goals « forgottenbeast
  2. Meatless Monday….3 bean soup. « A Dash of Domestic
  3. Slow Cookin’ Monday……. « A Dash of Domestic
  4. Polenta Squares and Slow cooked beans « A Dash of Domestic
  5. A New Year «
  6. This week in FAIL « A Dash of Domestic
  7. Slow Cooker Monday, this week in FAIL « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

