Mexican Rice

Inexpensive electric rice cooker containing co...

Image via Wikipedia

My sweet cousin asked for my Mexican rice recipe, so I thought I would share it with you all.

I love making Mexican rice. I use a rice cooker to cook it, so I usually forgo the “browning the rice” step. It is a great recipe either way you cook it.

Mexican rice is a wonderful side dish, it’s great in tacos and burritos, it is a good chip dip.

Mexican rice….

  • 2 cup uncooked white or brown rice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cups chicken broth/stock
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained or 1 can rotel if you like the spice, or 2 diced Roma tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • sea salt to taste

The Prep:

Put the oil into a medium saucepan and heat to a medium-high setting. Add the rice, garlic and onions, allow to brown a little bit. Add the broth and water, then add the rest of the ingredients. Mix well. Cover, allow a small space for some air to escape, and turn the heat down to medium-low setting.

Cook the rice for about 20 to 30 minutes, check rice after about 20 min to see if it is ready.

You do not need to stir the rice or remove the lid while the rice cooks. It is ready when the rice is fluffy, and all the water is gone.

If it is still sauce-like, you can cook a few minutes more.

Or you can do what I do and pop everything into the rice cooker, turn it on and let the rice cooker do all the work.

What do you serve with Mexican rice?

6 Comments

  1. Looks wonderful, simple too. My in-laws used to stock up on Ro-tel when they came to visit. Now, they sell it in Md.

    • It’s funny to me that so many products are region specific. I remember going to Washington D.C. when I was a teenager, my mom was a diet Dr. Pepper drinker (diehard) and we had to go to a liquor store to find some for her. They did not sell it (back then) anywhere else that we could find. The liquor store we went to sold it as a southern specialty item. Ha!

  2. Sounds good and rather like a tastier version of what they call Arroz a la Cubana here – Cuban Rice! I love rice cooked any way, but with added sauce or flavours it´s even nicer.

    • Cuban rice, how fun! When I first made this rice I just added salsa instead of the tomatoes. The recipe has changed as my cooking skills have evolved.

  3. YUMMMMMMMY!

    • Your salsa goes great with it.

Share your thoughts!

