He is the “Moons Over My Hammy”

I am participating in a wonderful blog project called Project Marriage. This month we have been asked to write about our love story.

I’ve always been a fan of the all-night diner. I spent many an hour(or four) in high school and college sitting at Denny’s or IHOP drinking coffee, smoking cigarettes (no judgment please) and chatting with friends.Β  I’ve met new friends there, played cards there, discovered the frugal delights of saltine crackers dipped in ranch dressing there, cried on my friend’s shoulder there, so many things… never did I think I would meet my soul mate there…but that’s exactly what happened.

My husband and I have an interesting story about how we met. We met at Denny’s, yes the restaurant, all-night diner, place you go after a night at the nightclub, whatever you want to call it.

True story.

We had a mutual friend who (early one morning) October 1st, 1995~ not that I remember the exact date or anything πŸ˜‰ , came home from Atlanta and called all her friends and asked them to meet her at Denny’s. My husband and I were the only ones who were able, willing, whatever to go.

This is how I met my husband. At Denny’s early in the morning, over coffee and coke and a midnight breakfast.

I knew immediately that he was a person I wanted to get to know better. He was funny, engaging, very easy on the eyes πŸ˜‰

We spent the next few days hanging out with our mutual friend and a group of his friends.Β  October 4th we had our first date. October of the following year (1996) he asked me to marry him. If I had not wanted to be married as soon as possible we might have married the following October. I was not willing to wait that long to marry my man. We married in March of 1997.Β  We have two beautiful and surly kids (age 11 and 13), and I still believe my sweetie is funny, engaging and easy on the eyes,Β  I now also know that he is brilliant, adaptive, a wonderful father and a loving and gentle husband.

I’ve never looked back, never been unhappy with my choice, never regretted the late night call that brought me to my soul mate.

He is, and will always be the “Moons Over My Hammy”

A funny side note, when I introduced my sweetie to my dear friend Lane…it was at Denny’s, when she introduced my husband and me to her new boyfriend/future hubby…it was at Denny’s. Funny but true.

15 Comments

  1. Beautiful! What a lovely story – do you ever go back to DennyΒ΄s to reminisce? My story about meeting Big Man is in two posts about a Blind Date (posted a few weeks back). How lovely that you still feel so happy (and why not?)! Inspirational, long may your romance continue…

    • We would go back, but the Denny’s we met at has been torn down and another restaurant has been built there. The price of urban progress.

      I’ll check your posts out. I like love stories.

  2. Awww, that’s really nice. Katherine and I started dating in late June 1999 and moved to California that October. When you know, you know.

    • I agree, Greg. When it’s right, you just know.

  3. Wes (Mr. JamieAnne)

    I will be your Moons Over My Hammy if you will be my Rooty Tooty Fresh and Fruity!

    • You’re a nut, I love that about you.

  4. That is really cute! πŸ™‚

  5. That is so sweet. Isn’t it amazing how fate and a single phone call can change the course of your whole life?
    Nice meeting you via Project Marriage. πŸ™‚

    • It is indeed! It is wonderful to meet you too! πŸ™‚

  6. Love this! When we first started dating we used to go to Denny’s all the time. Great story, thanks for linking up #projectmarriage

  7. LOVE this story, brings back memories of Denny’s! Thanks for linking up #projectmarriage

  8. Denny’s is and will always be awesome! I have a lot of great memories of late night/early morning meetups there. None that worked out as great as yours though πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the comment Stephanie! It worked out really well for me. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

