Overnight Oatmeal Bread

 

I love oatmeal bread. Honestly, I just love oatmeal. Cookies, bread, in a bowl with a little brown sugar and butter…Yep I have a food-mance with oatmeal.

I love fresh bread, I also love easy recipes. This recipe will fulfill both of those things fresh and easy.  Nothing smells better than fresh bread baking in the oven.  This recipe is easy enough for even the non-baker to try.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup uncooked quick oats

1 cup of boiling water

1 package (1/4 ounce) of active dry yeast

1/3 cup of warm water

1/4 cup of  honey or molasses or you could probably use Agave (I don’t use it so I’m not sure how much you’d use)

1 TBSP butter

1 1/4 tsp of salt

3 cups of all-purpose flour, divided

The directions:

Combine oats and boiling water in a bowl; let it stand until it is warm (no longer hot)

Dissolve yeast in warm water. Keep they yeast mixture in a warm place until the oat mixture cools.

Once the oat mixture is cooled, stir yeast mixture into the oat mixture. Add honey or molasses, butter and salt; blend thoroughly.  Stir in 2 cups of flour, blend well. Knead in the remaining cup of flour, blend well. Add more flour, if necessary, to make the dough fairly stiff. Let the dough rest for 3 to 5 minutes. Grease a loaf pan and set it aside. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured board. Knead for 8 to 10 minutes, or until smooth. Shape the dough into a loaf. Place into the greased loaf pan. Lightly oil the top of the loaf. Cover and refrigerate for at least 8 hours, you can refrigerate it up to 24 hours. Remove from the fridge at least 10 minutes or up to 1 hour before baking. Pre-heat oven to 350 deg. Bake for 50 min, or until the loaf sounds hollow when lightly tapped. Transfer the bread from the pan to a wire rack to cool.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Enjoy.

So you probably noticed a difference in the baking pan between pictures.  Yep, I had a “failure to rise”  and had to start over, but I was in a hurry and forgot to take pictures of the 2nd bread making process so the pictures from the first will have to do.  The problem? Old yeast, it must have been past it’s prime, so no rise in the bread. I went to the store at 8:30 pm last night and bought new yeast. Big difference. 🙂 The only other change between bread 1 and bread 2; I used molasses in the first batch, I used honey in the second batch.

20 Comments

  1. Else

    ooo!! Looking forward to trying this! And I’ll let you know how it goes with the agave quantity!

    • Awesome! I’ll be glad to know how the agave works out. I’ve considered buying some, but I always forget to add it to my shopping list.

  2. I share the love – of oatmeal that is! Can´t get the quick ones here but will do a little experimentation as this bread looks amazing. Don´t know what agave is either, so am off to look it up. I love the photo slideshows you do too – very impressive!

    • Thanks! I’ve never used agave, but I know some people do.
      Thanks for noticing the pictures. I decided to use my real camera and forgo the iPhone pictures. I’m glad someone noticed.

  3. Oh that looks great. I have some steel cut oats too, somewhere. I love them in bread.

    • Me too, love oats in bread. I’m going to fiddle with this recipe. See if I can use whole wheat instead of white flour. I’m also going to see if I can increase the loaf height.

      • Jay

        I’ve used whole wheat when making oatmeal bread. Half unbleached white and half whole wheat. I also use gluten powder to help the bread with volume because the oats and whole wheat tend to be heavy. I have also refridgerated the dough overnight after its first rising.
        I am going to try your overnight recipe.

  4. I’m right with you…I love oatmeal too! And I love the idea of overnight prepping! Being able to wake up and pop this bread in the oven is awesome! I have guests coming to stay the weekend and this will be perfect!

    • I hope you enjoy it. 🙂 I really love that the bread rises in the fridge. It makes the process so much easier. That’s one of the main reasons I decided to share this recipe. 🙂

  5. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you Christi, thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog.

  6. I’ve got a loaf in the fridge right now. I can’t wait to bake it and eat it tomorrow!

    • Hi Becky. I hope you enjoy it. I’m working on a wheat version. Once I’ve got it right I’ll post It. 🙂

  7. Hello Jamie.. I just found your blog through Chica andaluza and I love it..
    I love oatmeal and anything made with it makes my favoreite list very quickly 🙂

    • Hello! Welcome! Thanks for visiting. I love Chica andaluza, Tanya is one of my favorite bloggers.
      I love oatmeal! Anytime I can use it in a recipe I’m a happy girl.
      Have a wonderful day!

  8. Hi Jaime, I love your oatmeal bread recipe. I found you from Chica Andaluza too and I can’t wait to try this. Nothing beats homemade bread.

    • Hi Alisa! Thanks for the visit. I hope you enjoy the oatmeal bread. Off to visit your blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Making the most of things….unexpectedly good days, blogging and stock | A Dash of Domestic
  2. Oatmeal Bread | Chica Andaluza
  3. White Whole Wheat Banana bread, a review and a Giveaway! « A Dash of Domestic

Share your thoughts!

