Texas Caviar

Texas Caviar isn’t like normal Caviar. I don’t remember where I first had this yummy black-eyed pea dip, and I don’t know what other names it might go by, I have always known it as Texas Caviar.

  • Black-eyed peas (I used the canned variety, but you could work with fresh or frozen(just cook them first) rinsed and well drained
  • 1 diced and seeded jalapeno (I used mild pickled, diced jalapeno because I like the flavor)
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of oil (I used a canola blend, because it is lighter in texture and flavor)
  • 2 TSBP of garlic
  • a dash of salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp of cilantro
  • Mix it all together, cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours

Serve with tortilla chips. It’s a wonderful casual appetizer.

Enjoy!

11 Comments

  1. Good to see black-eyed peas on someone else’s blog! You sure post often. It’s so funny the store made stuff is awful. Make it at home and it’s just wonderful.

    • I try to post once a day, sometimes it’s more frequent. I made this yesterday for a birthday party we hosted, and I love this recipe.

      I’m posting my potato salad recipe tomorrow. You’re wife won’t like it, I’m a mayo gal. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh later this summer, I wonder if it’d be good with little slices of okra…. just thinking out loud. Or online.:)

    • It would be great with some pickled okra. πŸ™‚

  3. This sounds wonderful. I love anything with peas/beans/pulses and that little bit of spice. Yum! ItΒ΄s now reminded me about aubergine caviar…will have to make some soon.

    • I’ve never heard of aubergine caviar, I’ll check it out. πŸ™‚ this dip is zesty and wonderful.

      • Oh Eggplant! Sounds yummy!

  4. This looks great. I’m planning a Tex-Mex meal, and maybe I will add this to my starters along with salsa and gu

    • Thanks Laura! I hope you enjoy it. πŸ™‚ I know I’m going to enjoy your eggplant parmesan recipe.

  5. made it for the first tim not to long ago. I was very apprehensive. It always looks so terrible in restaurants and markets – but boy is it slammin’ at home!

    • I had no idea they sold this in the stores. It’s far too easy to make at home to bother with buying it pre-made. I’ll have to be more observant next time I am at the grocery store.

Share your thoughts!

