Heavenly homemade granola….

It’s 10 pm on Friday night. What are you doing? Me? I’m making granola. For reals. Homemade granola. I know, I’m a Party Animal.  Woot Woot!

Before I go into the recipe, the who, what, when, or where…I got the recipe I used/modified  from The Full Vine. Check out The Full Vine...you’ll totally be glad that you did.

Here’s Heidi’s recipe. It’s a direct quote from Heidi’s post. Any changes I made are marked in Bold Blue.

Homemade Granola

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

1/2 box of old-fashioned oats (any kind of whole rolled oats) 1/2 a box was 2 1/2 cups

1/2 box of quick oats I used 2 1/2 cups of this also

(or for the above, divide a box of whole rolled oats in half, and pulse 1/2 of it in a food processor or blender)

2 TBS cinnamon believe it or not I was TOTALLY out of “just cinnamon” I had cinnamon sugar or homemade pumpkin pie spice, so I used the pumpkin pie spice.

1 TBS salt

1 C brown sugar

1 C ground flax (“flaxseed meal,” etc)

1 C ground bran (“wheat bran,” etc – can omit if you need to)

1 C wheat germ

3/4 C melted butter

3/4 C oil I used 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup of coconut oil

1 C honey I used 1/2 cup of honey and 1/2 cup of pure (and delicious) maple syrup from Maine!

2 TBS vanilla

(NOTE: obviously, this will make a LOT.  Be prepared!  Add anything in that you like – dried fruit, chocolate chips, almonds…  There are some nuts in my photos below.) I added 1 cup of sliced almonds, 1 cup of plump raisins and 1 cup of shredded coconut

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 350°.  Do not grease the cookie sheets you’ll use.

Mix the dry ingredients in a LARGE bowl or pot.  You can use your hands or anything you like (guess what I use?).

Melt the butter and combine the other wet ingredients into it.

Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients and mix well.

Spread out about two 1-C. measuring cups on a cookie sheet.  I tried this on a baking stone once, and it can be a little messy.  A lot messy.  You may want to use cookie sheets that have a lip all the way around.

Bake the granola at 350° for 10-12 minutes.  Remove it from the oven, stir, and cool it to room temperature.  Meanwhile, put the next batch in the oven. I over filled one of my pans, so it was very soft. I allowed it to cool and then I rolled it into balls, and placed it in the fridge to fully cool. The rest I allowed to cool and placed in a storage container to be used as cereal, yogurt topping, what ever else I can find to use it for.

Result

When all the granola has completely cooled, store it in a large sealed container…or a lot of little ones.  You should have about 20 cups full.

8 Comments

  1. I’m glad you liked the granola! I love your idea about shaping it into balls – I think I’ll try that on purpose some time and dip them in chocolate. Never said this was HEALTHY granola… Although without preservatives, I think you could make a case for that. 🙂 Thanks for the shout-out! Have a great day.

    • Ha! You’re welcome. I ALWAYS try to cite my source. Too many people forget to do that now-a-days.
      I like the dipped idea. I make cake balls, so I’ve got dipping chocolate. 🙂

  2. I love homemade granola! I add pecans and almonds, raisins and craisins or dried cherries. I recently discovered organic, unsweetened coconut flakes at Whole Foods. They’re big flakes that get really crunchy when baked in the granola. So good! I look for them and pick them out to eat, they are that good! Regular coconut works great too. Great post!
    One tip, if you add dried fruit, add it in the last 5 minutes so it doesn’t get all hard and burned. It will firm up a little but still be chewy. 🙂

    • Thanks Kate. I think I have the coconut you are talking about. I bought mine at Sprouts. It’s crisp. I like it. It will also go well in coconut waffles.

  3. This is a great idea. My wife’s dad did this when she was a girl. It’s so much cheaper than store bought.

    • I agree, and totally customizable.

  4. Simply delicious!! No other comments are necessary 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m going to be making a new batch later this week. My kiddos (and friends) ate all of the last batch already. I’m going to check out your blog later today. My iPhone is hard to blog surf on. That car cake… Sooo cute!

Share your thoughts!

