To meal plan, or not to meal plan.


It’s a never-ending question for me.  I don’t like the idea of meal plans, it’s the rebel in me.

Meal plans=”the man”

I shake my fist at “the man”, I’m a renegade.

I don’t want to be “the man”, I’m too cool, too young, too hip to be “the man”

but I’m not really a renegade.

*sigh* I’m a suburban housewife. *sigh*

I’m married to “the man”, well not “the man”, but a man.

A man who likes to eat, and neither he nor I want to eat the same thing every night, although depending on the “thing” the kids might be fine and dandy with the same “thing” every night, for a while at least.

So, to meal plan or not to meal plan…that is indeed the question.


Trying to live frugally, trying to cook healthy (mostly) meals, and plan meals on the fly is not always easy.  I usually plan a day or two in advance, no more than that though.  Never a week or a month at a time.

Too structured. 

Too something, 

not me I guess.

I’m going to try my hand at meal planning.  It’s crazy, I know.  I figure I can try it for a month or two and then decide.  I might even plan in a wild card day where I can be a rebel and make my dinner on the fly.

I have printed meal plan forms from this website. Money Saving Mom There are a few (11) different styles to choose from.

The first thing I have to do is take stock of all the items in my freezer and pantry.

Oh joy.  That’s not going to be fun.

It’s going to be time-consuming. I’ve got a lot of food.

I’ll get that done this weekend.

I’m going to be a bit of a rebel and start my meal plans on Wednesdays. Wednesdays are the days that my grocery stores put out their new ads.

I’ll keep you posted.

Do you meal plan?  I’d love to hear about your meal plans and how they work for you.

9 Comments

  1. I’ve done it all but generally, as a busy mom of three, I live by the mantra fail to plan means planning to fail. I love batch cooking, once a month cooking….whatever you want to call it so that it’s loosely a plan but still offers me a lot of flexibility in what we consume. However, with baseball practices four nights a week and leaving before dinnertime, I have to have a plan….it doesn’t give me the luxury of thinking on the fly since it wont do any good anyhow since my mealtime epiphany would probably come while im watching my kiddo round 2nd…lotta good it does then, huh?

    I found a way that works for me. First, I went through and made a list of the breakfasts, lunches and dinners we like. I went further to categorize the dinners….beef, chicken, splurge, meatless, etc. I like having a leftover night and typically one night a week (wednedays) to try new recipes…otherwise what’s the use in saving them.

    Then I grab the calendar to see what we’ve got going on so I know what to plan around…. and whether its going to be a crock pot meal….

    Then start filling in the blanks

    I post it up a week at a time…and keeps the kids from bugging my” what’s for dinner” bc they can read for themselves.

    Precooking meats, etc for the oamc sessions helps me get a little more adventurous on the sides…. its a lifesaver, too for nights when I don’t want to cook…..its already ready for me tp just cook and I get to spend the time w my kids and not in the kitchen. 🙂

  2. I think the key is really making use of what you have on hand, eating leftovers and not letting things go to waste. Planning out a month would drive me crazy.

    • I do that. We eat our leftovers. Things don’t go bad around here very often. 🙂

    • I don’t think I can plan a month. I’m going to try planning a week, that’s the best I can do. 🙂

  3. Meal planning makes such good sense and I NEVER DO IT. I always blame the fact that I’m a WOHM and that’s just the worst excuse ever because so much good food goes to waste that way. I want to make the conscious effort tp begin meal planning and wasting as little as possible.

    • I’m the same way. If I keep procrastinating today I’m not going to get around to my (on hand) food tally.

  4. June

    I don’t meal plan, but I’ve been thinking I need to. We have not been eating well these days ;( And I think that’s been the cause of my family getting sick so much lately. I am looking for healthy crock pot meals because I just don’t have that much time. Any ideas?

    • I have tons of slow cooker recipes. I’ll work on posting a few more of them. I’ve got pork ribs in my slow cooker today. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

