Tri-Color Tuscan bean stew (Meatless Monday)

We’re meatless again this Monday. I’m not sure that my kids are enjoying this, because we’re carnivores at heart, but my husband has been supportive. I say he has been supportive, but only to a certain extent.

I found a recipe for black bean burgers and my husband, who is very funny, said “You know what would be good in black bean burgers?” I asked “What?” He said, “Some beef!”  🙂

Baby steps. Baby steps.
Tonight I’m making a Tuscan style stew, minus the meat.

Here’s my recipe.

1 can of cannellini beans (white kidney beans) drained and rinsed

1 can of light red kidney beans (which look just like dark red kidney beans…hmmmm) drained and rinsed

1 can of dark red kidney beans drained and rinsed

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cans of diced tomatoes (14 1/2 oz cans)

1/4 cup of red wine (or water)

1 package (6 oz.) baby spinach leaves

1 can of whole (pitted) black olives

Don’t add the olives, they did not mesh well with the other flavors.

*2 tsp. tomato paste (added before the spinach)

The spices

1/2 tsp. fennel seed

1 tsp. basil leaves (chopped)

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. crushed rosemary leaves

1/2 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. salt

Mix everything, except the spinach, together in a large pot.

Bring to a slow boil, cover and cook for 15 min. I then added a few squeezes from my tomato paste tube, lets say about 2 tsp.

My house smells like pizza! My daughter is excited about that.

20110509-045202.jpg

In the pot, ready to cook.

Once the stew is hot and bubbly, add the spinach, cover and cook for 5 min. more, or until spinach is wilted.

20110509-064636.jpg

The Stew

Serve with hot, crusty bread.

20110509-064650.jpg

20110509-064717.jpgEnjoy!

2 Comments

  1. I love a good bean soup. This meat lover thinks this looks fabulous. Love that you used fennel seed.

    • 🙂 I usually put chicken in this stew, or soupy stew.
      I wish the black olives had worked. They have a meaty taste, but they did not hold their own with the other flavors.

Share your thoughts!

