Two day everything chicken soup

I was intending to make lasagna tonight.

I changed my mind.  Since I  had already started a chicken soup.

I love chicken soup, you can add almost anything to it.

Zucchini? Sure.

Squash? Sure.

Mushrooms? Yep.

Pretty much anything (veggie wise) works in chicken soup.

I started my chicken soup yesterday. I like the two-day method, because I don’t have to shred hot chicken, and I believe that the flavors intensify when the soup has time to sit.

What I added to the pot

5 pound chicken,

4 cups of chicken broth and enough water to cover the chicken and veggies,

1 leek,

1 onion (diced),

4 carrots (chopped),

2 squash (chopped),

2 zucchini (chopped)

chopped parsley (a handful)

Bring to a boil and reduce heat, cook for 1 1/2  hours.

Once the chicken was cooked, I remove the chicken from the soup, placed it in a separate bowl, covered and place in the fridge.  I then added mushrooms to the soup pot, secured the lid and placed the soup pot  in the fridge and left it there overnight.

Today I removed the skin from the chicken, pulled the chicken apart and placed it back into the soup.  I then added 1 large can of corn (and the liquid from the can) . Then I warm the soup, bring the soup up to a boil and reduce heat to a simmer.  Simmer for 20- 30 min.

I added dumplings during the last 10 min of cooking.  (my dumplings were diced Pillsbury grands biscuits)  The soup is flavorful, hearty and filling.  I also have 5 single servings of soup left.  I placed them in separate containers so that if someone in my home wants soup they can microwave a single serving and eat a quick meal.

I know today is Cinco De Mayo, but soup is what we had.

20110505-055203.jpg

before it started cooking yesterday.

Notice the difference in the cooking pot from the first picture to the second one? I changed the pot yesterday right after I took the picture.  I decided the soup needed a bigger pot.

20110505-055118.jpg

the finished soup

20110505-055130.jpg

a closer view

2 Comments

  1. I like that method! Great soup.

    • Thanks. It does require ample fridge space though. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

